Phil Collins / Face Value and Both Sides deluxe reissue details


The Phil Collins reissue campaign, announced back in May, now has some flesh around its bones with track listings for the first two releases – Face Value and Both Sides – just revealed.

The retrospective series now boasts a title, Take A Look At Me Now, and has been “entirely curated and compiled by Collins himself”.

Time to adjust your expectations I think, because with Collins’ at the helm his approach has apparently been to “to examine how his songs have evolved over time, with the majority of the additional content throughout the series focused on live versions of the tracks”. Hmm.

There are a few “carefully selected” demos and B-sides, but as those words suggest these are not complete. For example, NONE of the three demos included on the B-side of If Leaving Me Is Easy (highlighted recently in Second Hand News) are included. There are also no remixes.

Box set gives you both reissues with space for the future releases

At present no dates have been given for the live tracks but the “evolved over time” comment indicates that these live performances aren’t necessarily locked into the era of each album’s original release.

All the content has been remastered by Nick Davis and 180g vinyl versions of these will be available but will include no bonus content. Also, CD and vinyl boxed sets will also be available which include the both new deluxe versions leaving “space to complete the collection” as the rest of the series is released.

Face Value and Both Sides will be released on 6 November 2015. What do you think of the track listings? Leave a comment and let us know.

UPDATE: These are now delayed until 29th January 2016..




Face Value / Both Sides 4CD collector’s box (with space for future releases)


Face Value / Both Sides 3LP collector’s box (with space for future reissues)


Face Value 2CD Deluxe

Face Value vinyl LP


Both Sides 2CD Deluxe

Both Sides 2LP Vinyl



CD1 – Original Album Remastered

1. “In The Air Tonight”
2. “This Must Be Love”
3. “Behind The Lines”
4. “The Roof Is Leaking”
5. “Droned”
6. “Hand In Hand”
7. “I Missed Again”
8. “You Know What I Mean”
9. “Thunder And Lightning”
10. “I’m Not Moving”
11. “If Leaving Me Is Easy”
12. “Tomorrow Never Knows”

CD2 – Bonus Tracks

1. “Misunderstanding” – Live
2. “If Leaving Me Is Easy” – Live*
3. “In The Air Tonight” – Live*
4. “Behind The Lines” – Live*
5. “The Roof Is Leaking” – Demo*
6. “Hand In Hand” – Live*
7. “I Missed Again” – Live*
8. “….And So To F” – Live*
9. “This Must Be Love” – Demo*
10. “Please Don’t Ask” – Demo*
11. “Misunderstanding” – Demo*
12. “Against All Odds” – Demo


CD1 – Original Album Remastered

1. “Both Sides Of The Story”
2. “Can’t Turn Back The Years”
3. “Everyday”
4. “I’ve Forgotten Everything”
5. “We’re Sons Of Our Fathers”
6. “Can’t Find My Way”
7. “Survivors”
8. “We Fly So Close”
9. “There’s A Place For Us”
10. “We Wait And We Wonder”
11. “Please Come Out Tonight”

CD2 – Bonus Tracks

1. “Take Me With You”
2. “Both Sides Of The Story” – Live*
3. “Can’t Turn Back The Years” – Live*
4. “Survivors” – Live*
5. “Everyday” – Live*
6. “We Wait And We Wonder” – Live*
7. “Can’t Find My Way” – Demo*
8. “I’ve Been Trying”
9. “Both Sides Of The Story”
10. “Hero” – Demo
* Previously unreleased on CD


SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments