Rod Stewart / Rarities 2CD


Universal are issuing a new 24-track two-CD collection of Rod Stewart rarities from his Mercury Records era (1969 to 1974).

Presumably they are looking to capitalise on Time, Rod’s recent UK number one album, because Rarities seems to re-treads familiar ground with at least a third of the tracks previously released on the 2009 Sessions four-CD box set.

That said, if you only have some or all of the five albums from Rod’s best period (An Old Raincoat Won’t Ever Let You Down, Gasoline Alley, Every Picture Tells a Story, Never a Dull Moment and Smiler) then there will be much here to enjoy with its alternate versions, singles, B-sides, studio outtakes and covers.

Rarities is out on 2 September 2013.

Rod Stewart / Rarities track listing:

Disc: 1

  • 1. It’s All Over Now (Single Version)
  • 2. Country Comforts (BBC Radio 1 Performance)
  • 3. Maggie May (Early Version)
  • 4. Seems Like a Long Time (Alternate Version)
  • 5. Lost Paraguayos (Alternate Version)
  • 6. Italian Girls (Early Version)
  • 7. You Wear It Well (Early Version)
  • 8. I’d Rather Go Blind (Alternate Version)
  • 9. Angel (Alternate Version)
  • 10. What’s Made Milwaukee Famous (Has Made A Loser Out Of Me)
  • 11. Pinball Wizard (From ‘Tommy’)
  • 12. Everytime We Say Goodbye (Summer 1973 Sessions)

Disc: 2

  • 1. Oh! No Not My Baby
  • 2. Jodie
  • 3. So Tired
  • 4. Missed You
  • 5. Think I’ll Pack My Bags (Early Version of ‘Mystifies Me’)
  • 6. Girl From The North County (Alternate Version)
  • 7. (You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Man (Alternate Version)
  • 8. Farewell (Early Version)
  • 9. So Tired (Early Version)
  • 10. You Put Something Better Inside Of Me
  • 11. Crying Laughing Loving Lying
  • 12. Maggie May (BBC Radio 1 Performance)

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments