Stax 60: new releases due to celebrate iconic soul label’s anniversary

Concord Music Group and Rhino have teamed up for a joint campaign to celebrate 60th anniversary of iconic soul label, Stax Records.

The label featured many legendary artists, including Otis Redding, Booker T & the MGs, Isaac Hayes, The Staple Singers, Carla Thomas, Rufus Thomas, Johnnie Taylor, Eddie Floyd, William Bell, Sam & Dave, Albert King and more.

This anniversary campaign will include “new hits compilations, vinyl LPs and deluxe boxed sets” but in the first instance will kick off with ten 12-track “wallet-friendly” single CD releases that showcase one of the label’s biggest stars. Specifically, these initial releases – branded ‘Stax Classics’ – will focus on Otis Redding, William Bell, Johnnie Taylor, Carla Thomas, Booker T & The MGs, The Dramatics, Albert King, Sam & Dave, Isaac Hayes and The Staple Singers (view full track listings below).

Later in 2017, both labels will reissue classic Stax albums on vinyl and these will include a 50th anniversary pressing of Otis Redding and Carla Thomas’ King & Queen and Melvin Van Peebles’ soundtrack to the groundbreaking Sweet Sweetback’s Baadasssss Song.

A four-CD Isaac Hayes anthology called The Spirit of Memphis (1962-1976) is promised for August and a three-CD ‘various artists’ Stax 60th set will also be issued.

The Stax Classics compilations will be issued on 26 May 2017. You can see via the selection below that these are very affordable!

Albert King / Stax Classics

  1. Born Under A Bad Sign
  2. The Sky Is Crying
  3. I’ll Play the Blues For You (Part 1)
  4. That’s What the Blues is All About
  5. Everybody Wants to Go to Heaven
  6. Crosscut Saw
  7. Can’t You See What You’re Doing to Me
  8. Breaking Up Somebody’s Home
  9. Blues Power (live)
  10. The Hunter
  11. Don’t Turn Your Heater Down
  12. Travelin’ Man

Isaac Hayes / Stax Classics

  1. Theme From Shaft
  2. Walk On By (single)
  3. Never Can Say Goodbye (single)
  4. The Look of Love (single)
  5. By the Time I Get to Phoenix (single)
  6. I Stand Accused (single)
  7. Run Fay Run
  8. Do Your Thing (single)
  9. Wonderful (single)
  10. Hyperbolicsyllabicsequedalymistic
  11. Soulsville (single)

William Bell / Stax Classics

  1. I Forgot to Be Your Lover
  2. Private Number (w/Judy Clay)
  3. You Don’t Miss Your Water
  4. Lovin’ On Borrowed Time
  5. A Tribute to a King
  6. My Baby Specializes (w/Judy Clay)
  7. Save Us
  8. All For the Love of a Woman
  9. My Whole World is Falling Down
  10. I’ve Got to Go On Without You
  11. Everybody Loves a Winner
  12. Gettin’ What You Want (Losin’ What You Got)

Booker T & the MGs / Stax Classics

  1. Green Onions
  2. Hip-Hug-Her
  3. Jellybread
  4. Time Is Tight
  5. Tic-Tac-Toe
  6. Boot-Leg
  7. Mo’ Onions
  8. Soul Dressing
  9. Groovin’
  10. Melting Pot
  11. Soul Limbo
  12. One Mint Julep

The Dramatics / Stax Classics

  1. In the Rain
  2. Whatcha See is Whatcha Get
  3. Get Up and Get Down
  4. Hey You! Get Off My Mountain
  5. And I Panicked
  6. Your Love Was Strange
  7. The Devil Is Dope
  8. Thank You For Your Love
  9. Toast to the Fool
  10. Fall In Love, Lady Love
  11. Fell For You
  12. Gimme Some (Good Soul Music)

Carla Thomas / Stax Classics

  1. B-A-B-Y
  2. Tramp (Otis Redding & Carla Thomas)
  3. Something Good (Is Going to Happen to You)
  4. I Like What You’re Doing (to Me)
  5. Cause I Love You (Carla & Rufus)
  6. Let Me Be Good To You
  7. Comfort Me
  8. When Tomorrow Comes
  9. What Is Love?
  10. Pick Up the Pieces
  11. I’ve Got No Time to Lose
  12. I Play for Keeps

Johnny Taylor / Stax Classics

  1. Who’s Making Love
  2. Jody’s Got Your Girl and Gone
  3. I Believe In You (You Believe In Me)
  4. Steal Away
  5. Somebody’s Sleeping In My Bed
  6. Testify (I Wonna)
  7. Take Care of Your Homework
  8. Cheaper to Keep Her
  9. I Got to Love Somebody’s Baby
  10. We’re Getting Careless With Our Love
  11. Love Bones
  12. I Am Somebody (Part 2)

Sam & Dave / Stax Classics

  1. Hold On! I’m A Comin’
  2. Soul Man
  3. I Thank You
  4. Soothe Me
  5. When Something is Wrong With My Baby
  6. You Don’t Know Like I Know
  7. Don’t Knock It
  8. I Can’t Stand Up For Falling Down
  9. You Got Me Hummin’
  10. A Place Nobody Can Find
  11. Said I Wasn’t Gonna Tell Nobody
  12. I Take What I Want

The Staple Singers / Stax Classics

  1. I’ll Take You There
  2. Respect Yourself
  3. If You’re Ready (Come Go With Me)
  4. Long Walk to D.C.
  5. Heavy Makes You Happy (Sha-Na-Boom-Boom)
  6. The Weight
  7. We’ll Get Over
  8. Touch a Hand (Make a Friend)
  9. City In the Sky
  10. This World
  11. Be What You Are
  12. Oh La De Da

Otis Redding / Stax Classics

  1. (Sittin’ On) The Dock of the Bay
  2. These Arms of Mine
  3. Try a Little Tenderness
  4. I’ve Been Loving You Too Long (To Stop Now)
  5. Mr Pitiful
  6. Respect
  7. Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa (Sad Song)
  8. Pain In My Heart
  9. Just One More Day
  10. That’s How Strong My Love Is
  11. Security
  12. Satisfaction


SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments