Tangerine Dream / Three O’Clock High

Vinyl reissue of the soundtrack to the 1987 film

Tangerine Dream / Three O'Clock High soundtrack vinyl reissue

Tangerine Dream’s soundtrack to the 1987 US teen comedy Three O’Clock High will be reissued on vinyl in January next year.

The film was directed by Phil Joanou, who went on direct U2’s Rattle and Hum and 1992 Hitchcockian thriller Final Analysis. It wasn’t well received and ultimately flopped at the box office, although it’s been reappraised over the years, to a degree. Darker than your average 80s teen-flick, executive producer Steven Spielberg even felt compelled to take his name off the credits.

The Three O’Clock High soundtrack hasn’t been reissued since it was first released in 1987 (click image to enlarge)

Tangerine Dream provide most of the music, although there are a handful of tracks by Sylvester Levay and Jim Walker performs the song ‘Something to Remember Me By’.

Out-of-print for decades, this 35th anniversary vinyl reissue includes an insert of the original film poster (drawn by Drew Struzan, who did Star Wars, Indiana Jones, Blade Runner etc.). It also includes new liner notes and comes with a printed inner sleeve. 

Three O’Clock High will be released on 27 January 2023, via Concord.


Tangerine Dream / Three O'Clock High soundtrack vinyl reissue

Three O’Clock High Tangerine Dream /

    • Side A
      1. It’s Jerry’s Day Today
      2. 46-32-15
      3. No Detention
      4. Any School Bully Will Do
      5. Go To The Head Of the Class
      6. Sit
      7. The Fight
      8. Jerry’s Decisions
      9. The Fight Is On
      10. Paper
    • Side B
      1. Big Bright Brass Knuckles
      2. Buying Paper Like It’s Going Out Of Style
      3. Dangerous Trend
      4. Who’s Chasing Who
      5. Bonding By Candlelight
      6. You’ll Never Believe It
      7. Starting The Day Off Right
      8. Weak At The Knees
      9. Kill Him (The Football Dummy)
      10. Not So Quiet In The Library/Get Lost In A Crowd
      11. Something To Remember Me By
      12.  Arrival

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments