The Art of Noise / Noise in the City: Live in Tokyo, 1986

Previously unreleased live show on limited white vinyl and CD

A previously unreleased complete Art of Noise concert, recorded in August 1986, at Tokyo’s Nihon Seinenkan will be issued on limited edition white vinyl and CD as Noise in the City: Live in Tokyo, 1986.

The album includes tracks such as ‘Moments in Love’, ‘Beatbox’, ‘Peter Gunn’, ‘Legs’, ‘Paranoimia’ and ‘Eye Of A Needle’ and ‘In The Mood’. On stage are Anne Dudley and JJ Jeczalik with Dave Bronze on bass, Simon Moreton on percussion, Paul Robinson on drums, and The Noisettes (Katie Humble, Pepe Lemer, and Linda Taylor) on vocals.

Noise in the City: Live in Tokyo, 1986 is also available on CD (click image to enlarge)

This LP was made possible when Anne Dudley, JJ Jeczalik, and Gary Langan returned to Tokyo for live dates in 2017. They found that the concert had been recorded for FM radio broadcast and ZTT/Art of Noise expert Ian Peel (who writes the liner notes for this live album), tracked down the original multitrack master tapes to a vault in London. The recordings were newly mixed this year by Gary Langan, in preparation for this release.

The album is a 2LP set and is pressed on 180g white vinyl. It comes in a gatefold sleeve and is a limited edition of 1500 numbered units with only 500 earmarked for the UK.

Noise in the City is released on 6 August 2021. SDE has a limited allocation, so secure yours by ordering via the SDE shop using this link or the buttons below. A money-saving 2LP white vinyl + CD bundle is available.


The Art of Noise / In The City: Live in Tokyo, 1986

Noise in the City: Live in Tokyo, 1986 The Art of Noise / Vinyl LP

    • Side A
      1. Intro – Peter Gunn
      2. Close (to the Edit)
      3. Paranoimia
    • Side B
      1. Eye of a Needle
      2. Legs
      3. Moments in Love
    • Side C
      1. Beatbox
      2. Instruments of Darkness
      3. Peter Gunn
    • Side D
      1. From Tokyo to Hammersmith and Back
      2. Opus III
      3. In The Mood

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments