The Beatles / Yellow Submarine reissue on DVD, Blu-ray and CD

The Beatles / Yellow Submarine reissue on DVD, Blu-ray and CDThe Beatles‘ classic 1968 animated feature film, Yellow Submarine, has been digitally restored for DVD and Blu-ray release on May 28 (May 29 in the US). The film’s ‘songtrack’ album will be reissued on CD on the same date.

The film has been restored in 4K digital resolution for the first time by hand, frame by frame.

Bonus features for the Yellow Submarine DVD and Blu-ray include a short making-of documentary titled Mod Odyssey (Running Time: 7:30), the film’s original theatrical trailer, audio commentary by producer John Coates and art director Heinz Edelmann, several brief interview clips with others involved with the film, storyboard sequences, 29 original pencil drawings and 30 behind-the-scenes photos.

The DVD and Blu-ray will come in digi-pack form and both will include reproductions of animation cels from the film, collectible stickers, and a 16-page booklet with a new essay by Yellow Submarine aficionado John Lasseter (of Pixar fame). Audio options include English, German, and Italian 5.1 DTS and the film will be presented in the original aspect ration.

The Beatles / Yellow Submarine 'songtrack' albumThe ‘songtrack’ album was originally released in 1999. It includes all The Beatles’ songs on the original soundtrack album, but dispenses with the George Martin orchestrations. A further nine additional songs were added and the whole thing was remixed, offering songs such as Nowhere Man and Think For Yourself in amazing clarity. The album has been remastered and like the ‘Red’ and ‘Blue’ compilations will be reissued in a card sleeve.

Yellow Submarine [DVD, Blu-ray]

  • Feature film [TRT: 89:00]
  • Fully restored in 4K and presented in the original aspect ratio of 1:66-1
  • Audio options: English 5.1 DTS, German 5.1 DTS, Italian 5.1 DTS
  • English Dolby Stereo
  • Original Mono
  • Audio Commentary – Heinz Edelmann (Art Director) and John Coates (Producer)
  • Subtitle languages (feature only): English, French, German, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, Dutch, Swedish, Norwegian, Danish, Polish, Finnish, Japanese

Extra features:

  • Mod Odyssey documentary [TRT: 7:30]
  • Original theatrical trailer [TRT: 3:30]
  •  Storyboard sequences:
  • – Sea of Monsters (split screen footage) [TRT: 4:20]
  • – Battle of the Monsters [118 images]
  • – Pepperland [64 images]
  • Interviews:
  • – Paul Angelis (voice of Ringo and Chief Blue Meanie) [TRT: 1:39]
  • – John Clive (voice of John) [TRT: 2:03]
  • – David Livesey (key animator) [TRT: 1:11]
  • – Millicent McMillan (Heinz Edelmann’s assistant) [TRT: 1:12]
  • – Jack Stokes (animation director) [TRT: 3:42]
  • – Erich Segal (co-writer) [TRT: 1:38]
  •  Original pencil drawings [29 images]
  • Behind-the-scenes photos [30 images]

Yellow Submarine Songtrack [CD]

  • 1. Yellow Submarine
  • 2. Hey Bulldog
  • 3. Eleanor Rigby
  • 4. Love You To
  • 5. All Together Now
  • 6. Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds
  • 7. Think For Yourself
  • 8. Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band
  • 9. With A Little Help From My Friends
  • 10. Baby, You’re A Rich Man
  • 11. Only A Northern Song
  • 12. All You Need Is Love
  • 13. When I’m Sixty-Four
  • 14. Nowhere Man
  • 15. It’s All Too Much


SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments