The Highwaymen Live: American Outlaws / four-disc deluxe set


Columbia/Legacy set to stand and deliver a four-disc deluxe compilation of vintage live performances by country music’s first supergroup, The Highwaymen, showcasing the talents of Willie Nelson, Johnny Cash, Waylon Jennings and Kris Kristofferson.

The Highwaymen Live – American Outlaws is a 3CD+blu-ray box set (3CD+DVD also available) that features two audio discs recorded live at Nassau Coliseum, March 14, 1990, and a previously unreleased full-length film of this memorable gig, which was transferred from the original film reels especially for this collection.

The Nassau Coliseum concert occurred in the middle of an 11-year collaboration, during which time the quartet released three studio albums, Highwayman, Highwayman 2 and The Road Goes On Forever). The group didn’t actually have a name when they released Highwayman, reflecting the organic, alchemic nature of the project. As Waylon Jennings wrote in his autobiography: “I don’t think there are any other four people like us … There’s not one of us who hasn’t come face to face with his own mortality, and many’s the time we’ve gone through our struggles and survivals together … That’s our friendship, unlocking any door that stands between us, and it keeps four very different individuals together.”

The Highwaymen also had three hit singles, including their US-Country-chart-topping debut, Highwayman, which won the Grammy for Best Country Song in 1986, and Desperados Waiting For A Train which peaked at number 15 on the US Country chart, live versions of which both feature in this compilation

The deluxe set includes a third CD with tracks recorded live at various Farm Aid Festivals and a unreleased recording of One Too Many Mornings, a twist on the Bob Dylan song which appeared on Heroes, a 1986 collaboration album by Johnny Cash and Waylon Jennings. This new version, produced by Mickey Raphael (a stalwart colleague of Willie Nelson’s and a member of his band) and remixed by Tony Castle, has been embellished with additional vocals recorded by Willie Nelson and Kris Kristofferson in 2014.

The audio/video content is complemented by a booklet with new liner notes by music historian and journalist Mikal Gilmore.

The Highwaymen Live – American Outlaws is released on 20 May 2016. For those fans based in Europe, Amazon Italy has the 3CD+Blu-ray edition at superb price of £27 or €35. The exact same set is £43 in the UK.


CD 1 (recorded live at Nassau Coliseum, Uniondale, New York, March 14, 1990)

  1. Mystery Train
  2. Highwayman
  3. Mammas Don’t Let Your Babies Grow Up To Be Cowboys
  4. Good Hearted Woman
  5. Trouble Man
  6. Amanda
  7. 7.There Ain’t No Good Chain Gang
  8. Ring Of Fire
  9. Folsom Prison Blues
  10. Blue Eyes Crying In The Rain
  11. Sunday Morning Coming Down
  12. Help Me Make It Through The Night
  13. The Best Of All Possible Worlds
  14. Loving Her Was Easier (Than Anything I’ll Ever Do Again)
  15. City Of New Orleans
  16. Always On My Mind
  17. Me And Bobby McGee

CD 2 (recorded live at Nassau Coliseum, Uniondale, New York, March 14, 1990)

  1. Silver Stallion
  2. The Last Cowboy Song
  3. Two Stories Wide
  4. Living Legend
  5. The Pilgrim: Chapter 33
  6. They Killed Him
  7. I Still Miss Someone
  8. Ragged Old Flag
  9. (Ghost) Riders In The Sky
  10. Are You Sure Hank Done It This Way
  11. Night Life
  12. The King Is Gone (So Are You)
  13. Desperados Waiting For A Train
  14. Big River
  15. A Boy Named Sue
  16. Why Me
  17. Luckenbach, Texas
  18. On The Road Again

CD 3:

  1. Mystery Train
  2. Highwayman
  3. The King Is Gone (So Are You)
  4. I’ve Always Been Crazy
  5. The Best Of All Possible Worlds
  6. City Of New Orleans
  7. Folsom Prison Blues
  8. Intro/Highwayman
  9. Shipwrecked In The Eighties
  10. Desperados Waiting For A Train
  11. One Too Many Mornings (Previously Unreleased)

CD 3, Tracks 1-6 recorded live at Farm Aid V, Texas Stadium, Irving, Texas, March 14, 1992;

Tracks 7-10 recorded live at Farm Aid VI, Cyclone Stadium, Ames, Iowa, April 24, 1993;

Track 11 from the album Heroes by Johnny Cash and Waylon Jennings, 1986; original recording produced by Chips Moman; 2014 vocals by Willie Nelson and Kris Kristofferson: produced by Mickey Raphael; remixed by Tony Castle.


Concert film recorded live at Nassau Coliseum, Uniondale, New York, March 14, 1990

Running time: approx. 2 hours 39 minutes

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments