Two unreleased David Bowie albums to be issued on Record Store Day 2017

Two genuinely exciting David Bowie releases will be issued for Record Store Day 2017, as the event celebrates its tenth anniversary…

Cracked Actor – Live in Los Angeles 1974 is the first official release of the September 1974 show from the ‘Philly Dogs Tour’ which was memorably included in the semi-legendary BBC documentary Cracked Actor.

The album features a different set-list from David Live and a new band line-up which included Luther Vandross on vocals (he would go on to contribute vocals to Young Americans and indeed gets a co-writing credit for Fascination).

All the multi-track tapes were brought together late last year and mixed by Toni Visconti. This release is a triple album with audio pressed on five sides and the sixth featuring an etching of the Diamond Dogs era Bowie logo.

If that live album isn’t exciting enough, the second Bowie release for RSD 2017 will be BOWPROMO1 which will include seven tracks from a 1971 promo-album, referred to at the time as BOWPROMO. These tracks are mainly alternative versions of songs that would later be heard on Hunky Dory.

These original white label actually features five tracks by Dana Gillespie on the B-side, although these are discarded for this RSD release which is a one-sided 12-inch vinyl with five exclusive Bowie prints and new sleeve notes in a special presentation box.

Good luck seeking these out on Record Store Day 2017, which is on 22 April 2017.


Side 1:

  • Introduction
  • 1984
  • Rebel Rebel
  • Moonage Daydream
  • Sweet Thing/Candidate/Sweet Thing

Side 2:

  • Changes
  • Suffragette City
  • Aladdin Sane
  • All The Young Dudes
  • Cracked Actor

Side 3:

  • Rock ‘n’ Roll With Me
  • Knock On Wood
  • It’s Gonna Be Me
  • Space Oddity

Side 4:

  • Diamond Dogs
  • Big Brother
  • Time

Side 5:

  • The Jean Genie
  • Rock ‘n’ Roll Suicide
  • John, I’m Only Dancing (Again)

Side 6:

  • David Bowie logo etching

Recorded live at Universal Amphitheatre, Los Angeles on 5th September 1974. Produced by David Bowie. Mixed in by Tony Visconti at Human Studios, NYC in October/November 2016.


  • David Bowie – vocals, guitar, harmonica
  • Earl Slick – guitar
  • Carlos Alomar – guitar
  • Mike Garson – piano, Mellotron
  • David Sanborn – alto sax, flute
  • Pablo Rosario – conga
  • Doug Raunch – bass
  • Greg Errico – drums

Backing vocals – Warren Peace, Anthony Hinton, Luther Vandross, Ava Cherry, Diane Sumler and Robin Clark.

BOWPROMO1 (one-sided LP in presentation box)

  • Oh! You Pretty Things (3.18)
  • Eight Line Poem (2.59)
  • Kooks (3.01)
  • It Aint Easy (3.04)
  • Queen Bitch (3.21)
  • Quicksand (5.09)
  • Bombers / Andy Warhol Intro (3.39)

Produced by Ken Scott (assisted by The Actor), mixed by Ken Scott at Trident Studios, London.


  • David Bowie – vocals, guitar, phased piano
  • Mick Ronson – guitar, vocal
  • Trevor Bolder – bass
  • Woody Woodmansey – drums
  • Rick Wakeman – piano on Kooks and Quicksand

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments