Various Artists / Tim’s Listening Party

New compilation recalls The Charlatans frontman’s Listening Parties

Tim's Listening Parties / 4CD deluxe - signed

Tim Burgess’ Listening Parties will be celebrated with a new compilation album in March this year.

The first official collection, which is called Tim’s Listening Party, was inspired by the Charlatans frontman’s online Listening Parties, which he launched on Twitter in March 2020, as a response to the first COVID lockdown in the UK.

The concept quickly became a social media phenomenon and has since spawned two books, a podcast and a radio show. It saw members of the public listening to albums in real time, along with the artists or people involved with the releases, who used Twitter to comment on the records and specific tracks, giving fans insights into the making of the albums and sharing some of the stories behind the songs.

Like the parties, the accompanying compilation album features an eclectic mix of artists, including Iron Maiden, Liam Gallagher, Paul McCartney, John Lennon, New Order, Billy Bragg, Sparks, KT Tunstall, The Chemical Brothers, The Libertines, Dexys Midnight Runners, The Specials and Belle & Sebastian.

Tim’s Listening Party will be available as a 62-track, 4CD deluxe set, which brings together highlights from the 1,278 Listening Parties (!) that took place, and also a 24-track, 2LP version, on green translucent vinyl.

There are a limited number of signed editions of the 4CD available from Amazon, and the 2LP version, which is on sale via UK independent record shops.

4CD set offers 62 eclectic tracks (click image to enlarge)

Speaking about the compilation album, Burgess said:I’d done some Charlatans and solo album listening parties, and as the Twitter followers grew I’d repeat it and do it again and again. It was maybe about a week before being told that we were going to go into a lockdown before we actually did something. I saw all the TV stuff, all the kind of crazy things that were happening and thought if we’re going to have to stay at home there must be a way that we can share times together.”

Both formats include an interview with Tim Burgess, by broadcaster Danielle Perry, which highlights the cultural importance of the Listening Parties during lockdown. 

Tim’s Listening Party will be released via Demon Music on 15 March 2024.

Compare prices and pre-order

Various Artists

Tims listening parties - 4CD signed edition



Tim's Listening Parties / 4CD deluxe - signed

Tim’s Listening Party Various Artists /

    • CD 1
      1. John Lennon – Hold On (Ultimate Mix)
      2. The Charlatans  – One To Another
      3. The Orielles – Space Samba (Disco Volador Theme)
      4. New Order – Age Of Consent
      5. Suede – The Wild Ones
      6. Supergrass – Caught By The Fuzz
      7. Joan As Police Woman – Real Life
      8. Billy Bragg – Sexuality
      9. The Chemical Brothers – Setting Sun
      10. Hercules & Love Affair – Blind
      11. The Breeders – Cannonball
      12. Belle And Sebastian – Ease Your Feet In The Sea
      13. The Style Council – My Ever Changing Moods
      14. John Shuttleworth – Y Reg
      15. This Is The Kit –  Moonshine Freeze
      16. Tim Burgess – Oh My Corazon
      17. Sleaford Mods feat. Billy Nomates – Mork N Mindy
    • CD 2
      1. The Libertines – Music When The Lights Go Out
      2. The Lovely Eggs – Wiggy Giggy
      3. Art Brut –  Emily Kane
      4. MGMT – Flash Delirium
      5. The Specials – Too Much Too Young
      6. Sparks –  Self-Effacing
      7. John Grant – Black Belt
      8. KT Tunstall –  Other Side Of The World
      9. The Shins –  Girl Inform Me
      10. Duran Duran – Save A Prayer
      11. The Streets – Let’s Push Things Forward
      12. Dexys Midnight Runners – Jackie Wilson Said (I’m In Love When You Smile)
      13. Liam Gallagher –  Some Might Say – (MTV Unplugged – Live At Hull City Hall)
      14. The Magic Numbers – Love Me Like You
      15. The Soft Boys – Insanely Jealous Of You
      16. Talking Heads – Heaven
      17. Joy Division – Isolation
    • CD 3
      1. Level 42 – Running In The Family (Extended Version)
      2. Ibibio Sound Machine – Tell Me (Doko Mien)
      3. Hot Chip – Hungry Child
      4. Liam Frost & The Slowdown Family – The Mourners Of St Paul’s
      5. Boy Azooga – Breakfast Epiphany
      6. Biffy Clyro – Tiny Indoor Fireworks
      7. Pixies  – Debaser
      8. Georgia – About Work The Dancefloor
      9. Michael Kiwanuka –  Piano Joint (This Kind Of Love)
      10. Run The Jewels – Out Of Sight (feat. 2 Chainz)
      11. Róisín Murphy – Murphy’s Law
      12. Tears For Fears  – Head Over Heels / Broken
      13. Paul McCartney – The Kiss Of Venus
      14. Steven Wilson – Personal Shopper
    • CD 4
      1. Iron Maiden –  Powerslave – (2015 Remaster)
      2. Gang Of Four – Natural’s Not In It
      3. Jesus Jones – The Devil You Know
      4. Dry Cleaning – New Long Leg
      5. Laurie Anderson – Born, Never Asked
      6. Echo & The Bunnymen – The Killing Moon
      7. Metronomy – Corinne
      8. Flyte –  Cathy Come Home
      9. The Pipettes – Pull Shapes
      10. Joel Culpepper –  Black Boy
      11. Saint Etienne –  Pond House
      12. Big Joanie – Fall Asleep
      13. Norah Jones –  Come Away With Me
      14. Kae Tempest – Salt Coast

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments