“Becoming Elektra”: Hand crafted limited edition book + 10-inch vinyl

Becoming Elektra / Hand crafted limited edition book with 10" vinyl

Foruli, the specialist publisher and record label, have created a new, strictly limited edition, book and vinyl release about legendary record label Elektra.

Becoming Elektra, is a volume that tells the story of Jac Holzman’s small folk label (formed in 1950) and how it grew to become an important and influential record label,  introducing music lovers to the likes of The Doors, Love and Judy Collins.

Becoming Elektra: The True Story of Jac Holzman’s Visionary Record Label (to give it its full title) was created with the full participation of Holzman and written by his trusted confidante Mick Houghton.

Becoming Elektra / Hand crafted limited edition book with 10" vinyl
Book and 10" vinyl within slipcase

This very special edition is hand bound in blind embossed leather, and comes encased in a retro speaker grill fabric & leatherette handmade slip case. Each numbered copy is hand signed by Jac Holzman and Mick Houghton.

The package wouldn’t be complete without some music, and the hand-crafted book comes with an exclusive 10-inch vinyl album, featuring rare tracks remastered by long-time Elektra producer Bruce Botnick. These include Morning Glory by Tim Buckley, Fred Neil’s Blues On The Ceiling and Since You Asked by Judy CollinsThe record has been pressed on heavyweight grey vinyl and comes with a limited edition art print hand signed by Bruce Botnick.

Becoming Elektra; The True Story of Jac Holzman’s Visionary Record Label was released as a limited edition of 250 around five weeks ago and is priced at £250. The book can be previewed and ordered at foruli.co.uk.

Full track listing for the 10″ limited edition album, Becoming Elektra:

  • 1. O Love Is Teasin’ by Jean Ritchie
  • 2. St James Infirmary by Josh White
  • 3. Joshua by Dick Rosmini
  • 4. Yes I See by Bob Gibson
  • 5. Wondrous Love by Kathy & Carol
  • 6. Linin’ Track by Koerner, Ray & Glover
  • 7. Wade In The Water by Judy Henske
  • 8. Black Mountain Rag by The Dillards with Byron Berline
  • 9. I Can’t Help But Wonder by Tom Paxton
  • 10. Blues On The Ceiling by Fred Neil
  • 11. I Ain’t Marching Anymore by Phil Ochs
  • 12. Since You Asked by Judy Collins
  • 13. Morning Glory by Tim Buckley

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
1 Comment
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments