Black Sabbath / Paranoid super deluxe


album, live concerts and a two-channel quad mix!

Rhino are to issue a four-disc super deluxe edition of Black Sabbath‘s second studio album Paranoid.

This new edition uses the 2012 remaster of the 1970 album and includes the 1974 quad mix of Paranoid. Bizarrely, the quad mix isn’t on a DVD (or blu-ray) but on CD. Since CDs cannot deliver audio in a surround sound format, this rare quad mix is ‘folded down’ to stereo. It will still sound different to the master version, but the whole point of quad mixes was to deliver a surround sound experience via four channels – something this CD won’t do. Truly perverse.

The other two CDs contain two concerts from 1970, from Montreux (recorded shortly before the album was issued) and Brussels (recorded during the band’s television performance for public broadcaster RTBF). The latter has been widely bootlegged, but for this set, the entire show has been sourced directly from the RTBF master tapes for optimum quality.

The four-disc set comes with a hardbound book with extensive liner notes featuring new interviews with all four band members, rare photos, and memorabilia, a poster, as well as a replica of the tour book sold during the Paranoid tour.

This Paranoid super deluxe edition will be issued on 11 November 2016.

Compare prices and pre-order

Black Sabbath

Paranoid Super Deluxe Edition

Shop Price gbp Stock
Amazon jp   34216.00


CD1 – Original Album (2012 Remaster)
01 War Pigs/Luke’s Wall
02 Paranoid
03 Planet Caravan
04 Iron Man
05 Electric Funeral
06 Hand of Doom
07 Rat Salad
08 Jack the Stripper/Fairies Wear Boots

CD2 – Quad Mix Folded Down To Stereo of Original Album
01 War Pigs
02 Paranoid
03 Planet Caravan
04 Iron Man
05 Electric Funeral
06 Hand Of Doom
07 Rat Salad
08 Fairies Wear Boots

CD3 – Live at Casino de Montreux – Montreux, Switzerland 08/31/1970
01 Intro
02 Paranoid
03 N.I.B.
04 Behind The Wall Of Sleep
05 Iron Man
06 War Pigs
07 Fairies Wear Boots
08 Hand Of Doom

CD4 – Live In Brussels 1970
01 Paranoid
02 Hand Of Doom / Rat Salad
03 Rat Salad
04 Iron Man
05 Black Sabbath
06 N.I.B.
07 Behind The Wall Of Sleep
08 War Pigs
09 Fairies Wear Boots

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments