Bob Dylan / Shadow Kingdom

Soundtrack to 2021 film issued on CD and vinyl

Bob Dylan’s re-recordings and rearrangements of some of his old songs, first premiered on Alma Har’el’s 2021 film Shadow Kingdom: The Early Songs of Bob Dylan, will be released on audio formats for the first time in June.

The songs featured include ‘Forever Young’, ‘It’s All Over Now, Baby Blue’, ‘I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight’, ‘When I Paint My Masterpiece’ (first released by The Band in Sep 1971 on Cahoots before Dylan included his recording on 1971’s Greatest HIts Vol. II a couple of months later) and other great catalogue gems such as ‘Queen Jane Approximately’ and ‘The Wicked Messenger’.

There’s 13 original songs in total. all handpicked by Dylan for his Shadow Kingdom performance, which saw Bob and his band performing to pre-recorded set pieces – plus the closing instrumental, ‘Sierra’s Theme’.

The album will be issued on CD and as a 2LP black vinyl edition (side four is etched) and the full-length Shadow Kingdom film will also be available via Apple TV

Shadow Kingdom will be released on 2 June via Columbia Records/Sony Music’s Legacy Recordings.


Shadow Kingdom Bob Dylan /

      1. When I Paint My Masterpiece
      2. Most Likely You Go Your Way (And I’ll Go Mine)
      3. Queen Jane Approximately
      4. I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight
      5. Just Like Tom Thumb’s Blues
      6. Tombstone Blues
      7. To Be Alone with You
      8. What Was It You Wanted
      9. Forever Young
      10. Pledging My Time
      11. The Wicked Messenger
      12. Watching the River Flow
      13. It’s All Over Now, Baby Blue
      14. Sierra’s Theme

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments