Cream / The Singles 1967-1970 / seven-inch vinyl box set

Get set for generous spoonfuls of classic bluesy, hard-rocking, psychedelia with the release of a seven-inch singles box set by the original rock power trio, Cream.

Universal Music have raided the archives of the Reaction, Atco and Polydor labels to select these long-deleted records for this ten-disc set. It includes everything from Tales of Brave Ulysses which showcased Eric Clapton’s use of the wah-wah guitar pedal for the first time, their reworking of Crossroads (originally recorded by Blues legend Robert Johnson in 1936), all the way through to Badge which Clapton co-wrote with his mate George Harrison and proved to be the band’s last charting single.

The original mono versions are apparently reproduced on standard-weight, classic ‘dinked’ vinyl (although the image depicts otherwise!) and exclusive new artwork has been commissioned for the sleeves of each record, which are presented together in a rigid, matt-laminated ‘lid-and-tray’ box.

This set is billed as a ‘fitting tribute’ to the skills of Clapton, drummer Ginger Baker and, especially, bassist/singer Jack Bruce, who passed away in October 2014, and follows on from last year’s release of the Cream: 1966-72 vinyl box set, which brought together all of their studio and live LPs in one set.

The Singles 1967-70 is released on 26 November 2015.

Buying guide: Availability in Europe is rather patchy at present but the Canadian Pre-order price of $62 equates to little over £30, which is stunning for a 10 x 7-inch single box set (import duties for the UK would be maximum £17, if your item is stopped by customs).




Single 1 (Reaction):

  • Wrapping Paper (2 minutes 24 seconds)
  • Cat’s Squirrel (2.59)

Single 2 (Reaction):

  • I Feel Free (2.48)
  • NSU (2.43)

Single 3 (Atco):

  • Spoonful – Part I (2.25)
  • Spoonful – Part II (2.28)

Single 4 (Reaction):

  • Strange Brew (2.45)
  • Tales Of Brave Ulysses (2.50)

Single 5 (Polydor):

  • Anyone For Tennis (2.37)
  • Pressed Rat And Warthog (3.12)

Single 6 (Polydor):

  • Sunshine Of Your Love (4.11)
  • SWLABR (2.30)

Single 7 (Polydor):

  • White Room (4.58)
  • Those Were The Days (2.52)

Single 8 (Atco):

  • Crossroads (4.16)
  • Passing The Time (4.31)

Single 9 (Polydor):

  • Badge (2.43)
  • What A Bringdown (3.56)

Single 10 (Atco):

  • Lawdy Mama (2.47)
  • Sweet Wine (3.16)

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments