David Bowie / Remastered ‘Berlin’ albums available separately next month

In February, Parlophone will issue separate editions on vinyl and CD of the 2017 remasters of David Bowie‘s Low, Heroes, Lodger, Scary Monsters (And Super Creeps) and live album Stage. These were previously only available as part of the A New Career In A New Town (ANCIANT) box set.

The exclusives in the box set are obviously not being released separately. They are the 2017 Tony Visconti remix (not remaster) of 1979’s Lodger, the Re:Call 3 compilation and the “Heroes” EP. Also, the box contains two versions of live album Stage but Parlophone are choosing not to bother making the original version available separately, and are just putting out the version which restores the original running order (this was originally released in 2005 but it’s worth remembering the ANCIANT edition is not only remastered but features two previously unreleased bonus tracks Jean Genie and Suffragette City).

“Heroes” is the ‘new’ version – it will not feature the controversial sound issue on the title track that blighted the editions within the box set. It will be the same as the replacements that have been sent out.

In terms of packaging, if these are consistent with previous releases, the CDs will be presented in standard jewel cases. They aren’t Japanese-style vinyl replica mini-LP CDs (as in the box) when issued individually.

If you are considering buying more than one or two of these CDs separately, SDE’s advice is don’t bother, just buy the box set which is only £65 on Amazon in the UK right now. The CD packaging is superior and you get the exclusive content and the box is lovely. You just need to claim your “Heroes” replacement disc (instructions here).

For vinyl, it’s a different matter since the box set is much more expensive, and as you will see below, they are well priced individually.

HMV vinyl bundle is quite attractive for £55

HMV in the UK have a special Low-Heroes-Lodger-Scary Monsters vinyl bundle that comes with an exclusive slip-mat. Good value at £55 (UK shipping only).

These individual releases will be issued on 23 February 2018.

Compare prices and pre-order

David Bowie

A new career in a new town - 11CD box



Side 1
1. Speed Of Life
2. Breaking Glass
3. What In The World
4. Sound And Vision
5. Always Crashing In The Same Car
6. Be My Wife
7. A New Career In A New Town

Side 2
1. Warszawa
2. Art Decade
3. Weeping Wall
4. Subterraneans


Side 1
1. Beauty And The Beast
2. Joe The Lion
3. “Heroes”
4. Sons Of The Silent Age
5. Blackout

Side 2
1. V-2 Schneider
2. Sense Of Doubt
3. Moss Garden
4. Neuköln
5. The Secret Life Of Arabia

STAGE (2017)
Side 1
1. Warszawa
2. “Heroes”
3. What In The World

Side 2
1. Be My Wife
2. The Jean Genie *
3. Blackout
4. Sense Of Doubt

Side 3
1. Speed Of Life
2. Breaking Glass
3. Beauty And The Beast
4. Fame

Side 4
1. Five Years
2. Soul Love
3. Star
4. Hang On To Yourself
5. Ziggy Stardust
6. Suffragette City *

Side 5
1. Art Decade
2. Alabama Song
3. Station To Station

Side 6
1. Stay
2. TVC 15

* Previously unreleased


Side 1
1. Fantastic Voyage
2. African Night Flight
3. Move On
4. Yassassin (Turkish for: Long Live)
5. Red Sails

Side 2
1. D.J.
2. Look Back In Anger
3. Boys Keep Swinging
4. Repetition
5. Red Money


Side 1
1. It’s No Game (Part 1)
2. Up The Hill Backwards
3. Scary Monsters (And Super Creeps)
4. Ashes To Ashes
5. Fashion

Side 2
1. Teenage Wildlife
2. Scream Like A Baby
3. Kingdom Come
4. Because You’re Young
5. It’s No Game (Part 2)

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments