David Bowie’s Aladdin Sane 50th anniversary editions

Picture disc and half-speed vinyl

David Bowie / Aladdin Sane 50th anniversary half-speed mastered vinyl and picture disc

David Bowie’s 1973 album Aladdin Sane will be reissued as a vinyl picture disc and a half-speed mastered black vinyl edition in April.

The album was originally released just ten months after Bowie’s breakthrough album The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars and features songs such as ‘Panic In Detroit,’ ‘Lady Grinning Soul’, ‘Time’ and ‘The Jean Genie’.

Aladdin Sane 50th anniversary vinyl picture disc (click image to enlarge)

This new pressing of Aladdin Sane was cut on a customised late Neumann VMS80 lathe with “fully recapped electronics” from 192kHz restored masters of the original master tapes, with no additional processing on transfer. Both vinyl editions are cut from the same master, which means the picture disc is actually half-speed mastered too, although although the half-speed black vinyl is going to sound better than the picture disc.

The Aladdin Sane 50th anniversary editions are released on 14 April 2023, via Parlophone.


David Bowie / Aladdin Sane 50th anniversary half-speed mastered vinyl and picture disc

Aladdin Sane David Bowie / 50th anniversary vinyl editions

    • Side one
      1. Watch That Man – 4:30
      2. Aladdin Sane (1913-1938-197?) – 5:06
      3. Drive-In Saturday – 4:33
      4. Panic In Detroit – 4:25
      5. Cracked Actor – 3:01
    • Side two
      1. Time – 5.15
      2. The Prettiest Star – 3:31
      3. Let’s Spend The Night Together – 3:10
      4. The Jean Genie – 4:07
      5. Lady Grinning Soul – 3:45

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments