Elvis / Today: Legacy reissue


Early next month, Sony/Legacy will reissue Elvis Presley‘s 1975 album, Today, as 40th anniversary two-disc Legacy Edition.

Recorded in RCA studios in Hollywood, Today featured The King interpreting songs recorded by artists such as Tom Jones (Green, Green Grass Of Home – a UK single), Don McLean (And I Love You So) and The Pointer Sisters (Fairytale). The album also contains T-R-O-U-B-L-E which was a top 40 hit in the USA.

For this Legacy Edition, disc one features the original album and an alternate mix of the album without producer Felton Jarvis’s ‘controversial’ overdubs.  In many instances the original session mixes sound very different indeed. These overdub-free versions of the songs first appeared on the 2005 ‘Follow That Dream’ (FTD) edition of Today but have never had a wide commercial release.

The second CD offers live performances recorded throughout the southern United States in May and June of 1975, just months after the Today sessions. These performances have previously only been released on the limited 8LP box set Elvis Aron Presley, first released in 1980.

The Legacy Edition of Today is released on 7 August 2015.

NB: At the time of writing the UK price is much higher than it should be. SDE expects this to drop to around the £13 before release. Germany and France more accurately reflect the true cost for this release.

CD 1

  1. T-R-O-U-B-L-E
  2. And I Love You So
  3. Susan When She Tried
  4. Woman Without Love
  5. Shake a Hand
  6. Pieces of My Life
  7. Fairytale
  8. I Can Help
  9. Bringin’ It Back
  10. Green, Green Grass of Home
  11. Fairytale (Undubbed Version)
  12. Green, Green Grass of Home (Undubbed Version)
  13. I Can Help (Undubbed Version)
  14. And I Love You So (Undubbed Version)
  15. Susan When She Tried (Undubbed Version)
  16. T-R-O-U-B-L-E (Undubbed Version)
  17. Woman Without Love (Undubbed Version)
  18. Shake a Hand (Undubbed Version)
  19. Bringing It Back (Undubbed Version)
  20. Pieces of My Life (Undubbed Version)

CD 2 – Recorded Live on Tour May-June 1975

  1. Also Sprach Zarathustra (Theme from 2001: A Space Odyssey) (Live)
  2. See See Rider (Live)
  3. I Got a Woman / Amen (Live)
  4. Love Me (Live)
  5. If You Love Me (Let Me Know) (Live)
  6. Love Me Tender (Live)
  7. All Shook Up (Live)
  8. (Let Me Be Your) Teddy Bear / Don’t Be Cruel (Live)
  9. Hound Dog (Live)
  10. The Wonder Of You (Live)
  11. Burning Love (Live)
  12. Introductions / Johnny B. Goode  (Live)
  13. Introductions /  School Days (Live)
  14. T-R-O-U-B-L-E (Live)
  15. Why Me Lord? (Live)
  16. How Great Thou Art (Live)
  17. Let Me Be There (Live)
  18. An American Trilogy (Live)
  19. Funny How Time Slips Away (Live)
  20. Little Darlin’ (Live)
  21. Mystery Train / Tiger Man (Live)
  22. Can’t Help Falling In Love (Live)

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments