Essential Nik Kershaw – a new compilation

3CD set at a bargain price

UMC’s budget imprint Spectrum delivers another Essential collection, this time offering three CDs of great music from Nik Kershaw who was massive in the UK in 1984 and 1985.

You Might Like

This release is very welcome since it has been a long EIGHT YEARS since Universal Music put out anything Kershaw-related (that being the 2CD deluxe of The Riddle) and the reissue ‘campaign’ – if it really can be called a campaign – ground to a halt after two fairly well received double-disc packages of Human Racing and The Riddle. As if to underline quite how long ago this was, at the time UMC didn’t even bother with vinyl reissues of either title and just put out 2CD sets.

Essential Nik Kershaw includes songs from all four studio albums recorded for MCA (the first two from 1984, as mentioned above, and Radio Musicola (1986) and The Works (1989)). It offers hits, B-sides and oddities.

CD 3 is reserved for remixes and amongst its ten tracks are extended versions of ‘Radio Musicola’, ‘One Step Ahead’ and ‘Elizabeth’s Eyes’ the first two of which make their CD debut on this compilation.

Essential Nik Kershaw will be released on 14 January 2022.


Essential Nik Kershaw / 3CD set

    • CD 1
      1. Wouldn’t It Be Good
      2. I Won’t Let The Sun Go Down On Me
      3. Don Quixote
      4. Radio Musicola
      5. Wide Boy
      6. Nobody Knows
      7. One Step Ahead
      8. Elisabeth’s Eyes
      9. James Cagney
      10. Bogart
      11. Cloak And Dagger
      12. Save The Whale
      13. When I Grow Up
      14. Wounded Knee
    • CD 2
      1. Dancing Girls
      2. The Riddle
      3. Human Racing
      4. When A Heart Beats
      5. Roses
      6. Cowboys & Indians
      7. Know How
      8. Monkey Business
      9. Wild Horses (Live At Hammersmith Odeon, London, UK, 1984)
      10. One Of Our Fruit Machines Is Missing (Instrumental)
      11. My Friend John
      12. Burning At Both Ends
      13. Life Goes On
      14. Take My Place
      15. City Of Angels (Live At Hammersmith Odeon, London, UK, 1984)
      16. Dark Glasses
    • CD 3
      1. I Won’t Let The Sun Go Down On Me (Extended Remix By Simon Boswell)
      2. Wouldn’t It Be Good (Remix)
      3. Dancing Girls (Special Extended Version)
      4. Drum Talk (Special Hi-energy Remix)
      5. The Riddle (Extended Riddle)
      6. Wide Boy (Special Extended Mix)
      7. Don Quixote (Extra Special Long Mix)
      8. Radio Musicola (Extended Version)
      9. One Step Ahead (Industrial Mix)
      10. Elisabeth’s Eyes (Extended Version)

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments