It’s Immaterial / Life’s Hard and Then You Die reissue track listing revealed

ItsImmaterial_3D (2)

We’re pleased to confirm the full track listing of the forthcoming 30th anniversary deluxe reissue of the It’s Immaterial album Life’s Hard And Then You Die

As you will see below, the first disc contains the remastered 10-track album plus a whopping nine bonus tracks including B-sides and single versions. There are some fantastic tracks amongst these, including the seven-inch, shorter version of Washing The Air (which surely should have been on the album) and Only The Lonely. Those tracks were the B-side to the original Ed’s Funky Diner and then the reissued Ed’s, respectively.

Washing The Air (Rub A Dub Mix) features on CD 2 of the reissue

The second CD includes the band’s (previously unreleased) last Peel Session (where they played four tracks from the album), all the remixes and mops up a few further extra tracks, ending with the 4-track demo of Driving Away From Home. In fact there are five versions of Driving, on this deluxe set, along with three versions of Ed’s Funky Diner. If you’re already a fan, you’ll know he 12-inch versions are epic, and in some cases, very different from the seven-inch/album cuts.

In total, 12 tracks have never been issued on CD, but none of them have ever sounded this good. This new edition of Life’s Hard And Then You Die comes packaged as a gatefold card wallet and features a 16-page booklet with a track-by-track commentary by the band.

This is due for release on 1 July 2016. If you are interested in It’s Immaterial and/or this reissue, make sure you’ve added your name to the mailing list (see below) because there is more to tell you in the next few weeks (I’m considering organising an event in London, for example).


Disc One – Original Album Remastered, plus B-sides & single versions

  • 1.     Driving Away From Home (Jim’s Tune) [4.12]
  • 2.     Happy Talk [5.28]
  • 3.     Rope [3.34]
  • 4.     The Better Idea [5.41]
  • 5.     Space [3.58]
  • 6.     The Sweet Life [4.38]
  • 7.     Festival Time [3.52]
  • 8.     Ed’s Funky Diner [3.04]
  • 9.     Hang On Sleepy Town [4.20]
  • 10.   Lullaby [6.25]
  • 11.   Washing The Air [3.23]
  • 12.   We’ll Turn Things Upside Down (The Enthusiasts Song) [4.29]
  • 13.   Only The Lonely [3.46]
  • 14.   A Crooked Tune [3.40]
  • 15.   Trains, Boats, Planes [3.49]
  • 16.   Hereby Hangs A Tale [4.07]
  • 17.   Kissing With Lord Herbert [2.59]
  • 18.   Driving Away From Home (Jim’s Tune) (single version) [3.51]
  • 19.   Space (single version) [4.04]

Disc Two – Peel Sessions & Remixes

  • 1.     Space (John Peel Session) [3.47]
  • 2.     Hang On Sleepy Town (John Peel Session) [4.10]
  • 3.     Festival Time (John Peel Session) [3.30]
  • 4.     Rope (John Peel Session) [3.30]
  • 5.     Ed’s Funky Diner (The Keinholz Caper) [5.53]
  • 6.     Washing The Air (Rub A Dub Mix) [5.29]
  • 7.     Driving Away From Home (Wicked Weather For Walking) [7.11]
  • 8.     Ed’s Funky Diner (Friday Night, Saturday Morning) [8.05]
  • 9.     We’ll Turn Things Upside Down (When The Revolution Comes) [4.06]
  • 10.   Driving Away From Home (I Mean After All It’s Only ‘Dead Man’s Curve’) [6.29]
  • 11.   Space, He Called From The Kitchen [7.10]
  • 12.   Rope (Extended Mix) [6.07]
  • 13.   Space (Instrumental) [4.02]
  • 14.   Jazz Bo’s Holiday Transatlantique [4.47]
  • 15.   Driving Away From Home (Original 4-Track Demo) [3.13]

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments