Jethro Tull / Benefit 50th anniversary reissue

4CD+2DVD ‘book’ edition

Ratings Ratings

Benefit 50th anniversary / Jethro Tull 4CD+2DVD edition

SDE Reader Rating


Fans of Jethro Tull who have been collecting the various deluxe reissues in recent years will be pleased with the news that their 1970 album Benefit will be reissued as an expanded six-disc set in the same ‘book’ format as the reissues that have been so well received over the last six or seven years.

The new 4CD+2DVD deluxe set is a belated 50th anniversary edition and offers a significant upgrade on the 2013 2CD+DVD digi-pak in terms of both audio/video content and packaging.

The first CD in the set repeats Steven Wilson’s 2013 stereo mix and offers additional recordings and the second disc collects associated recordings from the years 1969-1970 in both stereo and mono. CD3 contains a previously unreleased Steven Wilson remix of Jethro Tull performing at Tanglewood in 1970, while the second of two DVDs (region 0, NTSC) offers previously unavailable film footage of that show with a new Steven Wilson 5.1 surround mix available. The fourth and final CD4 contains a newly remastered mono version of a previously unreleased concert at The Aragon Ballroom in 1970. The other DVD offers the 5.1 mix of the album, flat transfers of the US and UK LP master and more (audio-only disc, so region issues are n/a).

The 50th anniversary of Benefit adopts the presentation of recent sets (click image to enlarge)

The 100-page book, in hardcover book packaging, contains an essay from Martin Webb, who expands upon the 2013 booklet notes. Following that are comments on each of the album’s tracks from, Ian Anderson, Martin Barre, Glenn Cornick and Clive Bunker, as well as interviews with Robin Black (studio engineer of Benefit and many other Jethro Tull albums), Terry Ellis (‘executive producer’ of Benefit), Joshua White who directed the 1970 Tanglewood Festival which features on the second DVD, and Steven Wilson explaining the mixing of Benefit in 2013. In addition there’s an enormous quantity of images of the band and memorabilia from the era.

This 50th anniversary deluxe edition of Benefit is released on 5 November 2021. This is available via the SDE shop. You can pre-order using this link or the button below.


Benefit 50th anniversary edition Jethro Tull / 50th anniversary 4CD+2DVD

    • CD 1: ORIGINAL ALBUM Steven Wilson Stereo Remixes (1-17
      1. With You There To Help Me
      2. Nothing To Say
      3. Alive And Well And Living In
      4. Son
      5. For Michael Collins, Jeffrey And Me
      6. To Cry You A Song
      7. A Time For Everything?
      8. Inside
      9. Play In Time
      10. Sossity; You’re A Woman
      Associated Recordings
      1. Singing All Day
      2. Sweet Dream
      3. 17
      4. Teacher (UK Single Version)
      5. Teacher (US Album Version)
      6. My God (Early Version)
      7. Just Trying To Be
      1. Singing All Day
      2. Sweet Dream(UK single ‘A’ side)
      3. 17 (UK single ‘B’ side)
      4. The Witch’s Promise (EUR single double ‘A’ side)
      5. Teacher (UK Single Version) (EUR single double ‘A’ side)
      6. Teacher (US Album Version) ( US single ‘B’ side)
      7. Inside (UK Single ‘A’ side)
      8. Alive And Well And Living In (UK Single ‘B’ side)
      9. A Time For Everything ( US single ‘B’ side)
      Original 1969-1970 Stereo Mixes
      1. Sweet Dream
      2. 17
      3. The Witch’s Promise (UK single double ‘A’ side)
      4. Teacher (UK Single Version)(UK single double ‘A’ side)
      5. The Witch’s Promise (US promo single ‘A’ side)
      6. Teacher (US Album Version) (US promo single ‘B’ side)
      1971 Stereo Remixes
      1. Singing All Day
      2. Sweet Dream
      3. The Witch’s Promise
      4. Teacher (US album Version)
      Original Radio Spots
      1. Benefit Radio Spot #1
      2. Benefit Radio Spot #2
    • CD 3: LIVE AT TANGLEWOOD 1970 (Steven Wilson Stereo Remix)
      1. Introduction And Tuning
      2. Nothing Is Easy
      3. My God (incl. Flute Solo)
      4. With You There To Help Me / By Kind Permission Of
      5. Dharma For One (incl. Drum Solo (edited))
      6. We Used To Know
      7. Guitar Instrumental
      8. For A Thousand Mothers
      1. Introduction And Tuning
      2. My Sunday Feeling
      3. My God (incl. Flute Solo)
      4. To Cry You A Song
      5. With You There To Help Me / By Kind Permission Of
      6. Sossity; You’re A Woman / Reasons For Waiting
      7. Nothing Is Easy
      8. Dharma For One (incl. Drum Solo)
      9. We Used To Know
      10. Guitar Instrumental
      11. For A Thousand Mothers
    • DVD 1
      1. Steven Wilson’s 2013 remix of the album and 5 extra tracks in DTS
      2. and Dolby AC 3 5.1 surround and stereo 96/24 LPCM
      3. Flat transfers of the original UK+US LP master in 96/24 LPCM
      4. & Additional tracks Sweet Dream, 17 & The Witch’s Promise
    • DVD 2
      1. The 1970 Fillmore at Tanglewood Concert on video with Steven Wilson’s 2020 audio remix in stereo and 5.1 surround.

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments