Jethro Tull / Minstrel in the Gallery: 40th anniversary La Grande Edition

Layout 1

Jethro Tull‘s 1975 studio album, Minstrel In The Gallery will be reissued as a four-disc deluxe edition in May.

The 40th Anniversary La Grandé Edition, as it is being called, will be a 2CD+2DVD set that will feature a new stereo and surround sound mix of the album by Steven Wilson along with seven bonus tracks, six of which are previously unreleased.

The second CD in the package features a live recording of the band performing at the Olympia in Paris on July 5, 1975, a few months prior to the release of Minstrel In The Gallery. A 5.1 surround mix of this live performance is also included on one of the DVDs (King Crimson guitarist Jakko Jakszyk mixed the stereo and 5.1) along with an eight and a half minute film of the band performing Minstrel In The Gallery in Paris from July 1975.

The other DVD includes the new Steven Wilson 5.1 (along with Summerday Sands and a very different version of Requiem in 5.1), flat transfers of the original LP mix at 96/24 and a flat transfer of the original QUAD mix. Both of these mixes include the B-side Summerday Sands.

As with previous anniversary sets this comes in a case-bound DVD book that includes an 80-page booklet featuring track-by-track annotations by Ian Anderson, recollections by roadie Kenny Wylie, Maison Rouge maintenance engineer Pete Smith, and string section member Liz Edwards plus lyrics, tour itinerary and rare and unseen photographs.

This 40th Anniversary La Grandé Edition of Minstrel In The Gallery will be released by Parlophone on 4 May 2015. A single CD and limited edition vinyl pressing of the Steven Wilson also be released.

Track Listing 

Disc One: New Steven Wilson Stereo Remix

  • 1. “Minstrel In The Gallery”
  • 2. “Cold Wind To Valhalla”
  • 3. “Black Satin Dancer”
  • 4. “Requiem”
  • 5. “One White Duck / 010 = Nothing At All”
  • 6. “Baker St. Muse”
  • 7. “Baker St. Muse”-“Pig-Me And The Whore”
  • 8. “Baker St. Muse”-“Nice Little Tune”
  • 9. “Baker St. Muse”-“Crash-Barrier Waltzer”
  • 10. “Baker St. Muse”-“Mother England Reverie”
  • 11. “Grace”
  • 12. “Summerday Sands”
  • 13. “Requiem” (Version 1) *
  • 14. “One White Duck” (Take 5) *
  • 15. “Grace” (Take 2) *
  • 16. “Minstrel In The Gallery” (BBC version)*
  • 17. “Cold Wind To Valhalla” (BBC version)*
  • 18. “Aqualung” (BBC version)*

Disc Two – Live at The Palais Des Sports, Paris, July 5, 1975 (A Jakko Jakszyk Stereo Mix)

  • 1. “Introduction (The Beach Part 11)”
  • 2. “Wind Up”
  • 3. “Critique Oblique”
  • 4. “Wond’ring Aloud”
  • 5. “My God”
  • a. Flute Solo Including: “God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen/Bouree/Quartet”
  • b. “Living In The Past”
  • c. “My God” (Reprise)
  • 6. “Cross-Eyed Mary”
  • 7. “Minstrel In The Gallery”
  • 8. “Skating Away On The Thin Ice Of The New Day”
  • 9. “Bungle In The Jungle”
  • 10. “Aqualung”
  • 11. “Guitar Improvisation”
  • 12. “Back-Door Angels”
  • 13. “Locomotive Breath”

with improvisation and including “Hard Headed English General” and “Back-Door Angels” (Reprise)

* Previously Unreleased

The DVDs will feature the DTS & DD 5.1 surround mixes as well as the 96/24 PCM stereo mix and and an eight and half minute film of the band recorded in Paris on 6th July 1975.

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments