Jethro Tull / The String Quartets


BMG is to issue Jethro Tull: The String Quartets in March, an album of classic Jethro Tull songs arranged in a classical style

John O’Hara has arranged for classical string quartet and Ian Anderson plays flute on most of the tracks and “sings a few lines here and there”! In his words, Ian says that this album is “perfect for lazy, long sunny afternoons, crisp winter nights, weddings and funerals.”

The songs are slightly re-titled for their classical interpretations, but the track listing below makes clear what’s what.

This album will be issued on 24 March 2017 and is available on CD and vinyl LP.


1. In the Past (Living in the Past)
2. Sossity Waiting (Sossity: You’re a Woman/Reasons for Waiting)
3. Bungle (Bungle in the Jungle)
4. We Used to Bach (We Used to Know/Bach Prelude C Major)
5. Farm, the Fourway (Farm on the Freeway)
6. Songs and Horses (Songs from the Wood/Heavy Horses)
7. Only the Giving (Wond’ring Aloud)
8. Loco (Locomotive Breath)
9. Pass the Bottle (A Christmas Song)
10. Velvet Gold (Velvet Green)
11. Ring Out These Bells (Ring Out, Solstice Bells)
12. Aquafugue (Aqualung)


SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments