Jimi Hendrix / Machine Gun: The Fillmore East First Show 12/31/69


Complete first set issued for the first time on CD, SACD and 2LP

Sony’s Legacy Recordings are releasing Machine Gun: The Fillmore East First Show 12/31/69, a Jimi Hendrix live album fully documenting the debut performance with his short-lived group, the Band of Gypsys.

The group – Hendrix, Billy Cox on bass and Buddy Miles on drums – played four concerts at the Fillmore East in New York City, two on New Year’s Eve 1969, and two on New Year’s Day 1970. This first set hasn’t been available before in its entirety.

The audio has been newly mixed from the original one-inch tapes and has been mastered by engineer Bernie Grundman. Rather unusually, as well as being issued on CD and 2LP vinyl, Machine Gun is being issued on SACD. Unless we hear otherwise, SDE assumes this is a hi-res stereo SACD and there is no multi-channel element.

This has been put together by the usual Hendrix reissue team (Janie Hendrix, Eddie Kramer and John McDermott) and will be issued on 30 September 2016. SACD links will be added soon.

Compare prices and pre-order

Jimi Hendrix

Machine Gun - The Fillmore East SACD


Compare prices and pre-order

Hendrix, Jimi

Machine Gun Jimi Hendrix The Fillmore East 12/31/1969 (First Show) [VINYL]



Jimi HendrixMachine Gun: The Fillmore East First Show 12/31/69 

1) Power Of Soul
2) Lover Man
3) Hear My Train A Comin’
4) Changes
5) Izabella
6) Machine Gun
7) Stop
8) Ezy Ryder
9) Bleeding Heart
10) Earth Blues
11) Burning Desire

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments