Lloyd Cole in New York: Collected Recordings 1988-1996 box confirmed

Lloyd Cole In New York: Collected Recordings 1988-1996, the new six-CD Lloyd Cole solo box SDE told you about last year, has been officially confirmed.

This box set will include all four solo albums Lloyd released on the Polydor and Fontana labels between 1988 and 1996 (Lloyd Cole, Don’t Get Weird On Me Babe, Bad Vibes, Love Story) and an unreleased album fifth album, Smile If You Want To. The sixth and final CD is called Demos ‘89-‘94 and features 20 previously unreleased recordings. Unlike the previous Commotions box set there is no DVD element.


The Smile If You Want To was was completed at the time, but thanks to time-honoured record company politics it was never released. The songs came out on subsequent albums (namely etc or The Negatives) although the version of Man On The Verge included here is the original Mick Glossop mix (it was remixed by Stephen Street for The Negatives). This is the first time they have been released as they were originally intended and the music is fully mastered by Ian Jones at Abbey Road studios. All the albums have been, in Lloyd’s own worlds “very gently” remastered, he says “there was nothing wrong with the originals”!

The presentation here is consistent with the previous box and will feature a hardback book by John O’Connell with new interviews with Lloyd and featured musicians, producers and collaborators and a selection of photos from the period, plus a poster and postcards that feature Lloyd shot in New York by photographer Kevin Cummins.

Lloyd Cole In New York: Collected Recordings 1988-1996 will be released on 17 March 2017. £37 is a pretty good UK pre-order price.

Compare prices and pre-order

Lloyd Cole

Lloyd Cole in New York - 6CD box


Compare prices and pre-order

Lloyd Cole and the Commotions

The 2015 Lloyd Cole and the Commotions box



Lloyd Cole in New York: Collected Recordings 1988-1996

CD 1 – Lloyd Cole

1. Don’t look back
2. What do you know about love?
3. No blue skies
4. Loveless
5. Sweetheart
6. To the church
7. Downtown
8. A long way down
9. Ice cream girl
10. Undressed
11. I hate to see you doing baby that Stuff
12. Waterline
13. Mercy Killing

CD 2 – Don’t Get Weird On Me, Babe

1. Butterfly
2. There for her
3. Margo’s waltz
4. Half of everything
5. Man Enough
6. What he doesn’t know
7. Tell your sister
8. Weeping wine
9. To the lions
10. Pay for it
11. The one you never had
12. She’s a girl and I’m a man

CD 3 – Bad Vibes

1. Morning is broken
2. So you’d like to save the world
3. Holier than thou
4. Love you so what
5. Wild mushrooms
6. My Way To You
7. Too much of a good thing
8. Fall Together
9. Mister wrong
10. Seen the Future
11. Can’t get arrested

CD 4 – Love Story

1. Trigger happy
2. Sentimental fool
3. I didn’t know that you cared
4. Love ruins everything
5. Baby
6. Be there
7. Unhappy song
8. Like lovers do
9. Happy for you
10. Traffic
11. Let’s Get Lost
12. For crying out loud

CD 5 – Smile If You Want To (unreleased album)

1. Old enough to know better
2. Memphis
3. Love like this can’t last
4. No more love songs
5. Man on the verge*
6. Santa cruz
7. Alright people
8. You’re a big girl now
9. Another lover
10. 39 down
11. Went to woodstock
12. I’m gone

bonus tracks
13. Fool you are (demo)
14. Weakness

*Previously unreleased

CD 6 – Demos ’89-’94 (all previously unreleased)

1. A long way down
2. Sweetheart
3. Ice cream girl
4. Wild orphan
5. Loveless
6. What do you know about love?
7. Know you too well
8. The witching hour
9. The english weather
10. I confess
11. To the lions
12. The ship song (Nick Cave cover)
13. Pay for it
14. Weeping wine
15. The one you never had
16. Weird on Me
17. Casanova smith
18. Cold empty room
19. Everyday
20. She Loves You




SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments