Matt Berry / Gather Up deluxe box set

4CD or 5LP options

This November, Acid Jazz will release Gather Up, a career-spanning box set of music by comedic actor and musician Matt Berry. Available as a four-CD set or signed 5LP vinyl package, Gather Up is part ‘best of’ and part rarities collection and has been compiled by Berry himself.

Over 10 years with Acid Jazz Records Matt Berry has released nine incredibly diverse albums, including the tangled-folk rock thickets of Witchazel and Kill The Wolf, the out-there explorations of Music For Insomniacs, TV Themes’ retro-kitsch delights, the twilight grooves of The Small Hours, the classic pedal-steel songwriting of Phantom Birds and the psychedelic sounds on The Blue Elephant.

The four-CD and 5LP vinyl boxes contain the same audio, the only different being that the 21-track career-spanning ‘best of’ requires two records compared to one CD, incidentally single CD and 2LP releases of this selection are also available.

The 5LP version of Gather Up includes a 64-page book, two prints, a certificate signed by Matt Berry (click image to enlarge)

The third LP (or CD 2) is a selection of rare and never heard before outtakes. It includes cuts from Berry’s 2010 Myspace EP ‘Summer Sun’; outtakes from the Witchazel and The Blue Elephant albums; the ‘Catch Me In Time’ track featuring soul legend Geno Washington; a live radio session version of ‘Take My Hand’ featuring Cecilia Fage; embryonic versions of album tracks, and much more.

LP four (or CD 3), Phantom First, comprises demo recordings of some songs which did and did not evolve into the Phantom Birds album. Many of these involve different track titles and completely different lyrics with familiar melodies wrong-footing the listener.

Finally, Live At A Festival which is LP 5 (or CD 4) features five songs recorded over three festivals in 2015, including The Green Man Festival in the Brecon Beacons.

The four-CD edition of Gather Up (click image to enlarge)

The vinyl set comes with two original Matt Berry artwork prints, a 64-page hardcover book with sleeve notes and an exclusive photographic archive of Matt’s 10 years with Acid Jazz. It also includes a certificate of authenticity signed by Berry.

The CD deluxe set is the casebound book format and features a 24-page book with sleeve notes and photos.

Gather Up will be released on 26 November 2021. The 2LP edition is a gatefold edition and is pressed on red vinyl. Nice.

Compare prices and pre-order

Matt Berry

Gather up - 5LP box set with signed certificate and book


Compare prices and pre-order

Matt Berry

gather up - 2LP red vinyl



Gather Up Matt Berry / 4CD deluxe set

    • CD 1 – Gather Up
      1. Take My Hand
      2. Something In My Eye
      3. Medicine
      4. Badger’s Wake
      5. World In Action
      6. One By One
      7. Take A Bow
      8. October Sun
      9. So Low
      10. Summer Sun
      11. Gather Up
      12. Theme from Snuff Box
      13. Middle Of The East
      14. Like Stone
      15. Phantom Birds
      16. Music For Insomniacs Part IV
      17. Say It Again
      18. The Innkeepers Song Live
      19. Obsessed & So Obscure
      20. Woman
      21. Solstice
    • CD 2 – Rare & Unreleased
      1. Bigger Than A Dog Original Witchazel Intro
      2. Take My Hand Live On Absolute Radio
      3. Autumn Witchazel Outtake
      4. The Dawn From Myspace EP ‘Summer Sun’ 2010
      5. Snuff Box Live Loop Used Live Between 2005 – 2012
      6. Catch Me In Time
      7. Dark Beach From Myspace EP ‘Summer Sun’ 2010
      8. The Hangman Acoustic Version 2007
      9. Wonder Theme Became ‘Something In My Eye’
      10. Music For Insomniacs Alternative Intro
      11. Theme From ‘Sorry’ Live from Charlie Brooker’s Screenwipe 2007
      12. Music For Insomnaics Rejected Theme
      13. Walk With Samuel Devil Inside Me’
      14. Blankety Blank Vocal Intro
      15. The Blue Elephant Trip Two
      16. Sweet Velvet Became ‘Seasons On Fire’
      17. The Blue Elephant Alternative Intro
    • CD 3 – Phantom First
      1. Covered In Clowns
      2. Get Her Out Of My Mind
      3. I’m Going
      4. Make It Go Away
      5. Peter Cleopatra and The Windmill
      6. Play On
      7. Take A Bow
      8. The Preacher’s House
      9. A Shot Rang Out In The Forest
      10. The Wrong House
      11. Where’s My Love?
      12. You Danced All Night
    • CD 4 – Live at a Festival
      1. Medicine / So Low
      2. Silver Sun
      3. Theme From Snuffbox
      4. Solstice
      5. The Pheasant


Gather Up Matt Berry / 5LP vinyl box with signed certificate and prints

    • Side A
      1. Take My Hand
      2.  Something In My Eye
      3. Medicine
      4. Badger’s Wake
      5.  World In Action
      6. One By One
    • Side B
      1. Take A Bow
      2. October Sun
      3. So Low
      4. Summer Sun
      5. Gather Up

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments