Michael Jackson / Off The Wall reissued with Spike Lee doc


Michael Jackson‘s 1979 album Off The Wall will be reissued as a CD+Blu-ray (or CD+DVD) edition next month, featuring the album in its original form with Michael Jackson’s Journey from Motown to Off the Wall, a new documentary directed by Spike Lee.

Recorded when Jackson was just 20 years old, Off The Wall would become an enormous commercial success, with the self-penned Don’t Stop ‘Til You Get Enough hitting the top spot in America (and bagging MJ his first GRAMMY), and further 45s Rock With You, Off the Wall and She’s Out of My Life all peaking inside the top 10 of the Billboard Hot 100.

jackson_michael_dont_stop_til_you_get_enough_singleThe long-player also features Girlfriend –  written for Jackson by Paul McCartney. Not one to let a good song go, Macca recorded a version too, for Wings’ London Town album. Michael would grow from grateful recipient to songwriting partner when he worked with McCartney a few years later on a number of tracks, notably Say Say Say.

There is no bonus audio at all (an expanded deluxe with demos and remixes was rumoured – see this video) but at least for now, Sony have decided to keep things simple. The original artwork has been restored, although there is no word at the moment as to which mastering this new edition will use, or whether the selection reverts back to the very original mix of the album.

In Michael Jackson’s Journey from Motown to Off the Wall director Spike Lee assembles a wealth of archival footage, including material from Michael’s personal archive, and interviews with contemporary talents (Pharrell Williams, Mark Ronson;  Joe Jackson etc.) and family members, and depicts the star’s early rise to fame through the release of the album. Spike Lee also created a documentary for Bad 25, although that wasn’t featured as part of the content of that reissue.

Apparently, these combo sets will come packaged as a deluxe ‘softpak’ which includes a 16-page booklet containing a new essay and photography plus a piece of chalk (!) and inside panels with a chalkboard finish.

Off The Wall will be reissued on 26 February 2016.


Picture: Michael Jackson / Off The Wall / CD+Blu-ray reissue




1. Don’t Stop ‘Til You Get Enough
2. Rock With You
3. Workin’ Day And Night
4. Get On The Floor
5. Off The Wall
6. Girlfriend
7. She’s Out Of My Life
8. I Can’t Help It
9. It’s The Falling In Love
10. Burn This Disco Out

Document de Spike Lee: Michael Jackson’s Journey from Motown to Off the Wall

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments