Neil Young / Homegrown

Unreleased album from 1975 emerges

Neil Young / Homegrown

Neil Young‘s unreleased album Homegrown will be issued on CD and vinyl next month.

Originally scheduled for release in 1975, the album has remained in the vaults since that time. Young calls the warm, semi-acoustic records “the unheard bridge between Harvest and Comes a Time”.

Seven of the songs are previously unreleased on any album, while different versions of five songs would appear on later Neil Young albums (such as American Stars ‘n Bars, Decade and Hawks & Doves). You can listen to ‘Try’, below.

Neil plays guitar, piano and harmonica on the album, and is accompanied by musicians including Levon Helm, Ben Keith, Karl T Himmel, Tim Drummond, Emmylou Harris and Robbie Robertson.

The vinyl edition was originally going to be a Record Store Day release, but that version (which was still black vinyl but included a print of the album cover and a printed inner sleeve) is now available in June along with the standard vinyl, but only via participating RSD stores.

Homegrown is released on 19 June 2020.

  1. Separate Ways  3:33
  2. Try  2:49
  3. Mexico  1:40
  4. Love Is A Rose  2:16
  5. Homegrown  2:47
  6. Florida  2:58
  7. Kansas  2:13
  8. We Don’t Smoke It  4:50
  9. White Line  3:14
  10. Vacancy  3:59
  11. Little Wing  2:08
  12. Star Of Bethlehem  2:45

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments