Neil Young / Somewhere Under The Rainbow

Orginal Bootleg Series

New Original Bootleg Series release

Neil Young is releasing a new Original Bootleg Series release called Somewhere Under The Rainbow in April.

This album features Neil Young with the Santa Monica Flyers, recorded live at the Rainbow Theatre in London on 5 November 1973.

The band featured Neil Young (vocals, guitar), Nils Lofgren (lead and rhythm guitar, piano, accordion, vocals), Ben Keith (pedal steel guitar, vocals), Billy Talbot (bass, vocals) and Ralph Molina (drums, vocals).

Neil Young and the Santa Monica Flyers – Somewhere Under the Rainbow

The setlist features most of the Tonight’s the Night album (which had only been recorded a few months earlier) along with a few classics such as ‘Helpless’, ‘Don’t Be Denied’ and ‘Cowgirl In The Sand’. This show is well known for its “completely spontaneous and high-revved performance” and this release comes with sleeve notes from recording engineer Pete Long’s who tries to “help listeners relive a place and time that won’t be repeated”.

The album is available as a 2CD or 2LP vinyl set, with Tonight’s The Night material on disc one and the other songs on disc 2. Nice to see Neil Young vinyl relatively cheap, the 2LP set is only £22 on Amazon in the UK.

Another Original Bootleg Series release is The Ducks’ High Flyin’. The Ducks was a band that often made unannounced appearances in their own backyards at clubs like the Back Room, The Crossroads Club, The Catalyst and others, featuring Neil Young (guitar, harmonica and vocals), Bob Mosley (bass and vocals), Jeff Blackburn (guitar and vocals) and Johnny Craviotto (drums & vocals).

The Ducks – High Flyin’

This new collection – on 3LP vinyl and 2CD – of those nights, as well as two evenings at the nearby Magical Devices studio have been bootlegged for decades, and High Flyin’ is now an official release.

Somewhere Under The Rainbow and High Flyin’ will both be released on 14 April 2023 via Warner Music.


Compare prices and pre-order

Neil Young

OBS - Citizen Kane Jr Blues 1974 - Live at the Bottom Line - CD edition



Somewhere Under The Rainbow Neil Young and the Santa Monica Flyers /

    • CD 1
      1. Tonight’s The Night
      2. Mellow My Mind
      3. World On A String
      4. Speakin’ Out
      5. Albuquerque
      6. New Mama
      7. Roll Another Number (For
        The Road)
      8. Tired Eyes
      9. Tonight’s The Night – Part II
    • CD 2
      1. Flying On The Ground Is
      2. Human Highway
      3. Helpless
      4. Don’t Be Denied
      5. Cowgirl In The Sand


High Flyin The Ducks /

    • CD 1
      1. I Am a Dreamer (Live)
      2. Younger Days (Live)
      3. Gypsy Wedding (Live)
      4. Are You Ready For The Country? (Live)
      5. Hold On Boys (Live)
      6. My My My (Poor Man) [Live]
      7. I’m Tore Down (Live)
      8. Hey Now (Live)
      9. Wide Eyed and Willing (Live)
      10. Truckin’ Man (Live)
      11. Sail Away (Live)
      12. Gone Dead Train (Live)
      13. Silver Wings (Live)
    • CD 2
      1. Human Highway (Live)
      2. Your Love (Live)
      3. I’m Ready (Live)
      4. Little Wing (Live)
      5. Car Tune (Live)
      6. Windward Passage (Live)
      7. Leaving Us Now (Live)
      8. Mr. Soul (Live)
      9. Two Riders (Live)
      10. Honky Tonk Man (Live)
      11. Sailor Man (Live)
      12. Silver Wings (Set 2) [Live]

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments