Nirvana compilation comes to blu-ray audio and 2LP 45RPM vinyl


Nirvana‘s 2002 self-titled compilation is being reissued on vinyl and blu-ray audio next month.

The 14-track collection is a solid overview and features the last studio recording, You Know You’re Right, all the well known singles and two tracks from the MTV Unplugged performance, including David Bowie’s The Man Who Sold The World.

nirvana_stickThis isn’t being re-released on CD but there will be two vinyl versions a standard 180g LP and a special deluxe 2LP set cut at 45RPM. Additionally, Nirvana will be issued on hi-res (96kHz/24bit) via a ‘Pure Audio’ blu-ray audio release. The blu-ray is stereo only affair (PCM, DTS-HD Master Audio and Dolby TrueHD) with no surround sound option.

The single vinyl LP comes with a download card for ‘MP3s’ (actually 320 KBPS MP4 AAC) but one advantage of opting for the 2LP 45RPM is that you get an upgraded download of  hi-res 96/24 files, although as the sicker notes (see above) the two tracks from Unplugged are CD-quality 44.1kHz/16 bit. It’s not clear at this point whether the blu-ray will offer the hi-res download or not, but it seems reasonably likely, particularly after the recent Grace Jones experiment.

Nirvana will be released on 28 August 2015.


2LP 45RPM Vinyl with HD download


Blu-ray Audio


1. You Know You’re Right
2. About A Girl
3. Been A Son
4. Sliver
5. Smells Like Teen Spirit
6. Come As You Are
7. Lithium
8. In Bloom
9. Heart-Shaped Box
10. Pennyroyal Tea
11. Rape Me
12. Dumb
13. All Apologies
14. The Man Who Sold The World

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments