No-Man / Housekeeping: The OLI Years 1990-1994

5CD box set of early material from Steven Wilson’s No-Man

British art-rock band No-Man will have their early years on the OLI (One Little Independent) label celebrated in a new deluxe 5CD box set called Housekeeping: The OLI Years, 1990-1994.

The group, which was formed by singer, Tim Bowness, and multi-instrumentalist, Steven Wilson, and also featured violinist, Ben Coleman, released two studio albums, a mini compilation album, and several singles on OLI.

Housekeeping: The OLI Years, 1990-1994 will include the band’s first two studio albums, Loveblows & Lovecries – A Confession, from 1993, and Flowermouth, which came out in 1994, along with the 1992 singles compilation Lovesighs – An Entertainment.

In the deluxe 5CD book set are also outtakes and alternative versions, and on CD5, a collection of BBC radio sessions, which is said to showcase a different, more visceral side to the band.

The 5CD collection comes with a hardback book that’s designed by Carl Glover and includes essays by Matt Hammers, author of the No-Man blog, All The Blue Changes, Tim Bowness and Steven Wilson, alongside rare photos.

Artists who played on No-Man albums include Mick Karn and Steve Jansen, Robert Fripp, Ian Carr, Lisa Gerard and Porcupine Tree members Richard Barbieri, Chris Maitland and Colin Edwin.

Housekeeping: The OLI Years, 1990-1994 will be released on 26 January via One Little Independent Records.


Housekeeping: The OLI Years, 1990-1994 No-Man / 5CD

    • CD 1: Lovesighs – An Entertainment
      1. Heartcheat Pop
      2. Days in the Trees – US remix
      3. Drink Judas
      4. Heartcheat Motel
      5. Kiss Me Stupid
      6. Colours
      7. Iris Murdoch Cut Me Up
      8. Days in the Trees – Reich
      9. Days in the Trees – Ives
      10. Days in the Trees – Bartok
      11. Walker
      12. Road
    • CD2: Loveblows and Lovecries – A Confession
      1. Loveblow
      2. Only Baby
      3. Housekeeping
      4. Sweetheart Raw
      5. Lovecry
      6. Tulip
      7. Break Heaven
      8. Beautiful and Cruel
      9. Painting Paradise
      10. Heaven’s Break
      11. Taking It Like a Man
      12. Babyship Blue
      13. Tulip – unedited master
    • CD3: Singles
      1. Ocean Song
      2. Back to the Burning Shed
      3. Swirl
      4. Sweetheart Raw – full length version
      5. Bleed
      6. Only Baby – Breathe for Me
      7. Only Baby – Be for Me
      8. Long Day Fall
      9. Painting Paradise – single re-recording
      10. Heaven Taste
    • CD4: Flowermouth
      1. Angel Gets Caught in the Beauty Trap
      2. You Grow More Beautiful
      3. Animal Ghost
      4. Soft Shoulders
      5. Shell of a Fighter
      6. Teardrop Fall
      7. Watching Over Me
      8. Simple
      9. Things Change
    • CD5: Radio Sessions 1992-94
      1. Break Heaven – Nicky Campbell session
      2. Heartcheat Pop – Nicky Campbell session
      3. Housekeeping – Nicky Campbell session
      4. Ocean Song – Hit the North session
      5. Days in the Trees – Hit the North session
      6. Taking It Like a Man – Hit the North session
      7. Lovecry – GLR session
      8. Days in the Trees – GLR session
      9. Sweetheart Raw – The Way Out session
      10. Teardrop Fall – acoustic session
      11. Watching Over Me – acoustic session
      12. Shell of a Fighter – acoustic session
      13. You Grow More Beautiful – acoustic session

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments