Paul Hardcastle: 19: The 30th Anniversary Collection

19 image

Paul Hardcastle is marking the 30th anniversary of his 1985 anti-war hit 19 with a celebratory vinyl and CD release that collects 14 versions of the career-defining single.

19: The 30th Anniversary Collection includes remastered versions of the original mixes: the full length version (from the original 12-inch), the popular Destruction Mix and The Final Story version – the latter actually being the ‘requiem’ element which is the second part of that remix. Also, issued for the first time commercially is Hardcastle’s demo of 19 that he recorded in his mum’s front room!

These originals are combined with a number of contemporary, creative reworkings (mostly by Hardcastle himself), some of which date from 2010 when he revisited the track to create variations such as History Keeps Repeating Itself and Welcome to Hell. The Inner Changes Mix is actually Victims of War (Pt 1) from 2010 and the Cryogenic Freeze Mix dates from 2012 when 19 Below Zero was issued.

This set also features a brand new remix 19 PTSD (post traumatic stress disorder) which will be issued as a single. Paul says “The haunting PTSD mix is quite heavy, and reflects the fact that more soldiers have committed suicide since the Afghanistan war than actually died in battle, now that is a sad statistic.” Proceeds from the sale of the 19 PTSD remix will go to PTSD charity Talking2Minds.

19: The 30th Anniversary Collection is released on CD and 2LP vinyl on the 19 May 2015. Expect the Amazon price to drop and ignore ‘temporarily out of stock’!

CD Edition

2LP Vinyl Edition

Track listing

  • 1. Destruction Mix (remastered) 7.07
  • 2. 19 PTSD Mix 4.07
  • 3. History Keeps Repeating Itself 5.07
  • 4. 19 Cryogenic Freeze Remix 5.33
  • 5. 19 Inner Changes Mix 4.39
  • 6. Electronica Dark Remix 6.13
  • 7. 19 Original (remastered) 5.14
  • 8. 19 The Vision 5.04
  • 9. 19 Welcome To Hell Remix 3.38
  • 10. 19 NUA Remix (feat. Marvin Gaye) 4.42
  • 11. 19 The Rage Remix 4.26
  • 12. 19 The Final Story (remastered) 3.04
  • 13. 19 Jim Pavloff Edit 4.43
  • 14. 19 The Original Demo 5.11

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments