Paul Young Remixes and Rarities collection coming from Cherry Pop

Paul Young / Remixes and Rarities
Paul Young / Remixes and Rarities (Click to enlarge)

Cherry Red Records will issue a new Paul Young collection titled Remixes and Rarities, via their Cherry Pop imprint on 17 June 2013.

As the name suggests, this new 2CD collection will feature a selection many of Paul Young’s best-loved singles in their full length, extended remix form, along with other rarities such as B-sides and cassette-only long versions.

Highlights include, the full extended mix of US number one Every Time You Go Away (unreleased on CD outside Japan), the ‘US Dance Floor Smash’ version of I’m Gonna Tear Your Playhouse Down (remixed by John ‘Tokes’ Potoker) and other CD debuts such as the near-nine minute extended mix of album track I Was In Chains (previously only available on the cassette of The Secret Of Association) and the epic live version of No Parlez album cut, Oh Women (from the Love Of The Common People seven-inch double-pack and The Live Edition Japanese LP).

All in all, every 45 Paul Young released as a solo artist in the 1980s is featured on this set in remixed form. So while fans will delight at the rarities, it also doubles as a fantastic ‘hits’ collection representing the pop-soul singer’s most successful era.

At this point we need to hold our hands up and and declare an interest, since this compilation was conceived and compiled by SuperDeluxeEdition editor Paul Sinclair, for Cherry Red. This involvement will allow us to bring you the inside line on this set with some exclusive updates coming on this release between now and 17 June!

Paul Young’s Remixes and Rarities will come complete with a Japanese style collector’s ‘OBI’ strip and cover art true to the era.

Paul Young / Remixes and Rarities track listing:

CD 1

  1. Every Time You Go Away [Extended Mix]
  2. Wonderland [Milan Mix]
  3. Come Back And Stay [Scratch Mix]
  4. I’m Gonna Tear Your Playhouse Down [U.S. Dance Floor Smash]
  5. Why Does A Man Have To Be Strong [Extended Mix]
  6. Man In The Iron Mask
  7. Iron Out The Rough Spots [Extended Remix]
  8. Yours [Extended Club Mix]
  9. It’s Better To Have And Don’t Need [Live]
  10. Hot Fun [Extended Mix]
  11. I’m Gonna Tear Your Playhouse Down [Extended Remix]
  12. Everything Must Change [Instrumental Version]

CD 2

  1. Wherever I Lay My Hat (That’s My Home) [Extended Club Mix]
  2. Some People [Dub]
  3. Heaven Can Wait [12″ Version]
  4. Love Will Tear Us Apart [Full Length Version]
  5. Behind Your Smile [Live]
  6. Oh Women [Live]
  7. Tomb Of Memories [12″ Mix]
  8. Love Of The Common People [Extended Mix]
  9. Softly Whispering I Love You [Extended Mix]
  10. Sex [Extended Club Mix]
  11. Everything Must Change [Extended Remix]
  12. I Was In Chains (Extended Mix]

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments