PICTURE: Elvis / Young Man with the Big Beat repackaged set


Sony/Legacy always do a sterling job with their repackaged ‘booksets’ and this newly reformatted edition of the 2011 Elvis set Young Man with the Big Beat looks to be no exception.

Discs one and two are expanded versions of the first two albums, while the third disc features three live concerts from 1956 with audio newly remastered by Vic Anesini. The fourth CD features mainly outtakes and the final disc has some fascinating interviews with the Young Elvis, politely dealing with different styles of interviewees!

This is released on 15 September and can be bought for less than £20 which seems like a great deal. The review for the original set can be found here.


Track listing

Disc: 1
1. Blue Suede Shoes
2. I’m Counting on You
3. I Got a Woman
4. One-Sided Love Affair
5. I Love You Because
6. Just Because
7. Tutti Frutti
8. Trying to Get to You
9. I’m Gonna Sit Right Down and Cry (Over You)
10. I’ll Never Let You Go (Little Darlin’)
11. Blue Moon
12. Money Honey
13. Heartbreak Hotel
14. I Was the One
15. My Baby Left Me
16. Lawdy, Miss Clawdy
17. Shake, Rattle and Roll

Disc: 2

1. Rip It Up
2. Love Me
3. When My Blue Moon Turns to Gold Again – The Jordanaires
4. Long Tall Sally
5. First In Line
6. Paralyzed
7. So Glad You’re Mine
8. Old Shep – The Jordanaires
9. Ready Teddy
10. Anyplace Is Paradise
11. How’s the World Treating You
12. How Do You Think I Feel
13. I Want You, I Need You, I Love You
14. Hound Dog
15. Don’t Be Cruel
16. Any Way You Want Me (That’s How I Will Be)
17. Too Much
18. Playing for Keeps – The Jordanaires
19. Love Me Tender
20. Let Me – The Jordanaires
21. Poor Boy – The Jordanaires
22. We’re Gonna Move – The Jordanaires

Disc: 3
1. Heartbreak Hotel
2. Long Tall Sally
3. Blue Suede Shoes – The Jordanaires, The Mello Men, Kathy Westmoreland, The Sweet Inspirations, J.D. Sumner & The Stamps
4. Money Honey
5. Heartbreak Hotel – Elvis Presley & The Jordanaires
6. Long Tall Sally – Elvis Presley & The Jordanaires
7. I Was The One – Elvis Presley & The Jordanaires
8. Money Honey – Elvis Presley & The Jordanaires
9. I Got A Woman – Elvis Presley & The Jordanaires
10. Blue Suede Shoes – Elvis Presley & The Jordanaires
11. Hound Dog – Elvis Presley & The Jordanaires
12. Heartbreak Hotel
13. Long Tall Sally
14. I Was The One – The Jordanaires
15. Love Me Tender
16. Don’t Be Cruel
17. Love Me
18. I Got A Woman
19. When My Blue Moon Turns To Gold Again
20. Paralyzed
21. Hound Dog

Disc: 4
1. I Got A Woman
2. Heartbreak Hotel
3. I’m Counting On You
4. I Was The One
5. Lawdy, Miss Clawdy
6. Lawdy, Miss Clawdy
7. Lawdy, Miss Clawdy
8. Lawdy, Miss Clawdy
9. Lawdy, Miss Clawdy
10. Lawdy, Miss Clawdy
11. Lawdy, Miss Clawdy
12. Lawdy, Miss Clawdy
13. Shake, Rattle And Roll
14. Shake, Rattle And Roll
15. Shake, Rattle And Roll
16. Shake, Rattle And Roll
17. The Complete Warwick Hotel Interview – Robert Brown

Disc: 5
1. The Complete “T.V. Guide Presents Elvis” Interview – Paul Wilder
2. Colonel Parker Interview – Paul Wilder
3. The Truth About Me
4. The Truth About Me Interview
5. Victoria Radio Ad 1
6. Victoria Radio Ad 2

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments