Robin Trower / Bridge of Sighs

50th anniversary 3CD+blu-ray set

Ratings Ratings

Bridge of Sighs / Robin Trower 3CD+blu-ray

SDE Reader Rating


Procol Harum’s Robin Trower released his second solo album, Bridge of Sighs, in 1974 to critical and commercial acclaim. The album will be reissued as a 3CD+blu-ray deluxe edition which features a Dolby Atmos Mix amongst some impressive content.

The album features Trower on guitar with James Dewar (bass, vocals) and Reg Isidore (drums). Robin’s former bandmate Matthew Fisher produces with former Beatles engineer Geoff Emerick taking on control room duties.

The 3CD+blu-ray deluxe set (click to enlarge)

The 3CD+blu-ray set features both a remastered version of the original mix of the album (CD 1), a brand new 2024 stereo remix of Bridge of Sighs which contains longer versions of the songs, since it was discovered during the remixing process that they had been edited back in the day, most likely to ensure the album fitted comfortably on vinyl. For example, ‘In This Place’ is 4.29 on the original album but 6.17 on the stereo remix, while ‘Little Bit of Sympathy’ is also almost two minutes longer. Every track is different in this way. Added to CD 2 is a very generous selection of outtakes and rarities, all previously unreleased, including rehearsals, early versions and the like.

The third CD offers live audio available in its entirety for the first time and newly remastered from the original tape transfers. The blu-ray includes a Dolby Atmos Mix (by Richard Whittaker), a 5.1 Mix, the remastered stereo version, the remixed stereo version, a slightly different selection of stereo outtakes (extra ones!), the live tracks in stereo and an exclusive instrumental stereo mix.

This set includes a 24-page booklet featuring liner notes by David Sinclair (no relation!), new interviews with Robin Trower and Matthew Fisher and more. A 2LP vinyl version is also available that includes the live tracks on LP 2.

Bridge of Sighs will be released on 17 May 2024, via Chrysalis. You can support SDE by pre-ordering the 3CD+blu-ray set via the SDE shop. Use this link or the button below.


Bridge of Sighs Robin Trower /

    • CD 1: Bridge of Sighs 2024 remaster
      1. Day of The Eagle 5.02
      2. Bridge of Sighs 5.02
      3. In This Place 4.29
      4. The Fool And Me 3.55
      5. Too Rolling Stoned 7.31
      6. About To Begin 3.46
      7. Lady Love 3.20
      8. Little Bit of Sympathy 4.21
    • CD 2: Bridge of Sighs 2024 stereo remix
      2024 Stereo Mix with longer/unedited versions + Outtakes & Rarities
      1. USA Radio Spot* 1 0.14
      2. Day Of The Eagle* 5.38
      3. Bridge of Sighs* 5.29
      4. In This Place* 6.17
      5. The Fool And Me* 4.55
      6. Too Rolling Stoned* 8.07
      7. About To Begin* 5.06
      8. Lady Love* 4.07
      9. Little Bit of Sympathy* 6.07
      10. USA Radio Spot 2* 1.05
      11. Day Of the Eagle (instrumental rehearsal)* 3.50
      12. Bridge of Sighs (outtake 3)* 5.47
      13. The Fool and Me (instrumental outtake)* 5.21
      14. Lady Love (extended outtake)* 4.02
      15. Little Bit Of Sympathy (alt. take)* 2.00
      16. Lady Love (early version)* 4.04
      17. Day of the Eagle (single version)* 2.58
      18. USA Radio Spot 3* 1.02
      *previously unreleased
    • CD 3: Live at The Record Plant, Sausalito, 29 May 1974:
      1. Twice Removed From Yesterday* 3.57
      2. Bridge of Sighs* 5.25
      3. Alethea* 4.24
      4. Lady Love* 3.15
      5. Daydream* 6.45
      6. Too Rolling Stoned* 6.18
      7. I Can’t Wait Much Longer* 6.19
      8. Day of The Eagle* 4.09
      9. Little Bit of Sympathy* 5.04
      10. Rock Me Baby* 5.01
      *previously unreleased
    • Blu-ray
      2024 Remaster (48/24)
      Dolby Atmos (48/24)
      5.1 (48/24)
      2024 Stereo Mix (with longer versions)
      Additional Outtakes & Rarities (# represents extras not on CD 2)
      1. Day Of The Eagle (instrumental rehearsal) 3.54
      2. Day Of The Eagle (outtake 1)# 3.52
      3. Day Of The Eagle (outtake 2)# 4.44
      4. Bridge Of Sighs (outtake 2)# 5.47
      5. Bridge Of Sighs (outtake 3)# 5.48
      6. The Fool and Me (instrumental outtake) 5.21
      7. Lady Love (extended outtake) 4.02
      8. Lady Love (early version) 4.17
      9. Little Bit Of Sympathy (alt take) 2.00
      10. Day Of The Eagle (single version) 3.14
      11. USA Radio Spot 1 0.14
      12. USA Radio Spot 2 1.05
      13. USA Radio Spot 3 1.02
      Live at The Record Plant, Sausalito, 29th May 1974

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments