Roy Orbison / A Love So Beautiful: With The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Sony’s Legacy Recordings is to release A Love So Beautiful, a new Roy Orbison compilation that sets the American singer-songwriter’s vocals to London’s Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.

After the massive success of the similar Elvis sets, I guess you can’t blame Sony for rolling out this franchise and A Love So Beautiful does have two things going for it: It has the approval of the estate, being released in partnership with ‘Roy’s Boys’ (the Nashville-based company founded by the Orbison’s sons to administer their father’s catalog) and with that voice this could sound quite good.

The 15-track album (unlike with The King, there appears to be no deluxe edition with bonus tracks) features the big hits and iconic songs you’d expect, such as Pretty Woman, In Dreams, Crying, Only The Lonely, and You Got It. Roy’s sons even contribute guitars/drums to a few tracks and amusingly allow 10-month old grandson Roy III  to ‘play’ some tambourine (fair enough) and guitar (really?) on Pretty Woman. If he can play guitar at ten months, then his grandad’s talent has definitely been passed down!

A Love So Beautiful is released on CD and vinyl on 3 November 2017

track list:

  1. In Dreams
  2. Crying
  3.  I’m Hurtin’
  4. Oh, Pretty Woman*
  5. It’s Over
  6. Dream Baby +
  7. Blue Angel
  8. Love Hurts
  9. Uptown**
  10. Mean Woman Blues+
  11. Only the Lonely
  12. Running Scared
  13. I Drove All Night**
  14. You Got It
  15. A Love So Beautiful**

*featuring Alex Orbison- drums; Wesley & Roy Jr.- guitars; Roy III- guitar, tambourine
+featuring Alex Orbison- drums; Roy Orbison Jr. – guitar
**featuring Alex Orbison- drums

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments