Seal / new album: ‘Standards’

Seal has a new album out in November called Standards.

As may be apparent by the title, this is an album of jazz standards and swing classics, featuring such tracks as Luck Be A Lady, I Put A Spell On You, I’ve Got You Under My Skin and It Was A Very Good Year. All very familiar.

To be fair to Seal he has reached for some level of authenticity by collaborating with some musicians who have performed with the greats, including pianist Randy Waldman (who toured with Sinatra), bass player Chuck Berghofer (Ella Fitzgerald) and drummer Greg Fields (Stevie Wonder). The songs were also recorded in the Capitol Records in Los Angeles.

The deluxe CD edition adds three bonus tracks, including a couple of festive favourites Let It Snow, Let It Snow, Let It Snow and Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting). There is a vinyl version and HMV have a white vinyl exclusive (UK shipping only) of this album.

Standards is out on 10 November 2017

Compare prices and pre-order


Standards - black vinyl LP

Shop Price gbp Stock
Amazon usa   38

1. Luck Be A Lady
2. Autumn Leaves
3. I Put A Spell On You
4. They Can’t Take That Away From Me
5. Anyone Who Knows What Love Is
6. Love For Sale
7. My Funny Valentine
8. I’ve Got You Under My Skin
9. Smile
10. I’m Beginning To See The Light – Seal, The Puppini Sisters
11. It Was A Very Good Year
12. The Nearness Of You *
13. Let It Snow, Let It Snow, Let It Snow *
14. Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting) *

* deluxe edition only

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments