Stone Temple Pilots / Core: 25th anniversary six-disc super deluxe

Remastered • Masses of unreleased audio • 5.1 mix on DVD

This September, Rhino are to reissue a 25th anniversary, six-disc super deluxe edition of Stone Temple Pilots 1992 debut Core.

The Grammy winning album has sold over 8 million copies in the US alone and amongst its 12-tracks are the singles Sex Type Thing, Plush and Wicked Garden.

The super deluxe edition reissue is a 4CD+DVD+LP set. It includes a newly remastered version of the original album, and a very impressive amount of unreleased material. In fact, across the three bonus CDs is more than two hours of unheard demos and unissued live performances, including the band’s performance on MTV Unplugged.

The record label seem to be following the format of their Fleetwood Mac super deluxe sets here and so, like it or not, you get the vinyl with your optical discs! At least this set also comes with a 5.1 Surround Sound Mix of the album along with videos for the album’s four singles. This is on a DVD, so unfortunately it won’t deliver a lossless 5.1 audio experience, as would have been the case with a blu-ray. Note: There is also 24/96 stereo mix on the DVD.

This Core anniversary set is ‘limited’ to 15,000 copies and is packaged as a 12″ x 12″ hardcover book, with the usual rare and unseen photos.

At around the £50 mark at the time of writing, this package seems like decent value, although many will resent the inclusion of the vinyl, which obviously bumps up the cost of purchase. Amazon Canada’s price of just under CA$62 is the best by far right now. That equates to around £38 although the UK/US prices may drop.

There is also a two-CD deluxe edition which pairs the remastered album on CD with the bonus disc of demos/B-sides. Both that and the super deluxe will be released on 29 September 2017.

Disc One: Original Album Remastered
1. “Dead & Bloated”
2. “Sex Type Thing”
3. “Wicked Garden”
4. “No Memory”
5. “Sin”
6. “Naked Sunday”
7. “Creep”
8. “Piece Of Pie”
9. “Plush”
10. “Wet My Bed”
11. “Crackerman”
12. “Where The River Goes”

Disc Two: Demos And B-sides
1. “Only Dying” – Demo *
2. “Wicked Garden” – Demo *
3. “Naked Sunday” – Demo *
4. “Where The River Goes” – Demo *
5. “Dead & Bloated” – Demo *
6. “Sex Type Thing” – Demo *
7. “Sin” – Demo *
8. “Creep” – Demo *
9. “Plush” – Demo *
10. “Sex Type Thing” – Swing Type Version
11. “Plush” – Acoustic Type Version
12. “Creep” – New Album Version
13. “Plush” – Acoustic from MTV Headbanger’s Ball (Take 1)

Disc Three: Live 1993
Live At Castaic Lake Natural Amphitheater (July 2, 1993)
1. “Crackerman” *
2. “Wicked Garden” *
3. “No Memory” *
4. “Sin” *
5. “Plush” *
6. “Where The River Goes” *
7. “Sex Type Thing” *
8. “Wet My Bed” *
9. “Naked Sunday” *

Live At The Reading Festival (August 27, 1993)
10. “Wicked Garden”
11. “No Memory” *
12. “Sin”
13. “Lounge Fly” *
14. “Dead & Bloated”
15. “Sex Type Thing”
16. “Naked Sunday”*

Disc Four: MTV Unplugged (November 17, 1993)
1. “Crackerman”
2. “Creep” *
3. “Andy Warhol”
4. “Plush” *
5. “Big Empty” *
6. “Wicked Garden” *
7. “Sex Type Thing” *

Disc Five: (DVD) Original Album 5.1 Mix, 24/96 Stereo Audio, And Music Videos

Disc Six: Original Album on vinyl LP

* Previously Unreleased

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments