Duran Duran / New studio album ‘Danse Macabre’ – available as SDE-exclusive blu-ray

Andy Taylor returns! • Warren Cuccurullo returns!

Duran Duran / Danse Macabre SDE-exclusive blu-ray audio

SDE-exclusive blu-ray audio! • Coloured vinyl editions • Blu-ray Pre-order Quick Link

Duran Duran return in October with a brand new studio album called Danse Macabre!

This record sees the original line-up back together for many of the tracks as Nick Rhodes, Andy Taylor, Roger Taylor, John Taylor, and Simon Le Bon reunite for the first time since 2004’s Astronaut! Fans of ’90s-era Duran will be further delighted to see the return of guitarist Warren Cuccurullo who guests on a couple of songs (including the title track), making this the first Duran Duran album since 1986’s Notorious to feature the guitar playing of both Andy Taylor and Warren Cuccurullo.

Inspired by the band’s one-off, 2022 Halloween show at the Encore Theater at Wynn in Las Vegas, Danse Macabre is a spooky, ghoul-inspired 13-song collection which features three brand new songs, covers of classic tracks from artists such as Talking Heads, The Rolling Stones and Siouxsie and the Banshees and new versions of numbers from Duran Duran’s back catalogue, including debut album track ‘Night Boat’, ‘Union of the Snake’ B-side ‘Secret Oktober’ (now ‘Secret Oktober 31st’), a re-spelt ‘Love Voudou’ from The Wedding Album, and Rio’s ‘Lonely in Your Nightmare’, which is mashed up with with a cover of Rick James’ ‘Super Freak’ for a song called ‘Super Lonely Freak’. In total, nine of the album’s 13 tracks were performed for last year’s Halloween show.

The title track of Danse Macabre features Warren Cuccurullo on guitar

Other guests on the album include longtime friend and collaborator Nile Rodgers along with Victoria De Angelis of Måneskin. The artwork features images adapted from a collection of authentic vintage séance photos that band member Nick Rhodes sourced at auction.

I am delighted to confirm that Danse Macabre has been mixed for spatial audio and a Dolby Atmos Mix will be available physically only via an SDE-exclusive blu-ray audio, No 13 in the ongoing SDE Surround Series! The Atmos Mix has been created by the legend that is Bob Clearmountain and this is the first time a Duran Duran album has been mixed for Atmos and released as a physical product and only the second time since the Astronaut Dualdisc/SACD that any of their albums has been available physically in surround sound. The blu-ray features:

  • Dolby Atmos Mix (by Bob Clearmountain)
  • 5.1 Surround Mix (48/24)
  • Hi-Res Stereo Mix (96/24)
Duran Duran / Danse Macabre SDE-exclusive blu-ray audio
The SDE-exclusive limited edition blu-ray audio of Danse Macabre

Here’s the now traditional reminder as to why the blu-ray is highly recommended:

  • It’s the only way to enjoy the Dolby Atmos mix of the album via a physical product
  • You don’t need to sign-up to a streaming service such as Tidal or Apple Music to hear the spatial audio mix
  • The Atmos Mix on the Blu-ray is not compressed due to streaming bandwidth restrictions
  • You own the product, you are not renting it from a digital service provider
  • The Blu-ray audio is an excellent format for music and you don’t want to see it die off
  • Supporting SDE with these initiatives is leading to similar collaborations with labels/artists and we are keen to bring your more in the near future!

This exclusive blu-ray pre-order for Danse Macabre closes in 4 days, on 6 September 2023 – don’t miss out! It will be released on 27 October 2023, via BMG.

Order the SDE-exclusive blu-ray edition via the SDE shop using this link or via the button below (‘pre-order’). Note: There are no longer any extra charges for shipping to the EU.

TECHNICAL NOTES: This blu-ray audio requires a blu-ray player. Decoding the Dolby Atmos mix requires a Dolby Atmos-certified soundbar or a Dolby Atmos-compatible AV Receiver/Amp. The Dolby Atmos mix will ‘fold down’ to 5.1 or stereo if a Dolby Atmos decoder is not detected.

Other formats of Danse Macabre are available from the official Duran Duran shop (US fans should head here) include:


Danse Macabre Duran Duran / SDE-exclusive blu-ray audio

      1. Nightboat
      2. Black Moonlight *
      3. Love Voudou
      4. Bury A Friend (Billie Eilish cover)
      5. Supernature (Cerrone cover)
      6. Danse Macabre *
      7. Secret Oktober 31st
      8. Ghost Town (Specials cover)
      9. Paint It Black (Rolling Stones cover)
      10. Super Lonely Freak (Duran/Rick James mash-up)
      11. Spellbound (Siouxsie & the Banshees cover)
      12. Psycho Killer (Talking Heads cover)
      13. Confession in the Afterlife *

      *new Duran Duran song

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments