Suede to release new studio album called ‘Autofiction’

Band store exclusive 12″ EP now re-available!

“Back to basics”, with Ed Buller twiddling the knobs

Suede will release their ninth studio album, Autofiction, in September.

The album sees the band apparently ditching the grandeur and concepts of the last two records and going ‘back to basics’, with frontman Brett Anderson describing Autofiction as “our punk record. No whistles and bells. Just the five of us in a room with all the glitches and fuck-ups revealed; the band themselves exposed in all their primal mess.”

You can preview the first single ‘She Still Leads Me On’, above. The song is written from Brett to his late mother and lyrically Autofiction is described as “one of Anderson’s most personal records yet”. The album was recorded in Konk studios in North London. Ed Buller returns as producer after Suede worked with Alan Moulder for the The Blue Hour.

Standard formats for the album are CD, black gatefold vinyl and indies grey gatefold vinyl. The official artist shop (US fans have their own shop) offers a clear vinyl variant, signed bundles and a deluxe box set that gathers CD, clear vinyl along with “stencil, postcards, poster and signed setlist”. Not quite as impressive as 2018’s The Blue Hour box, it has to be said, which offered exclusive instrumentals on CD, a unique song on seven-inch and a DVD with band commentary.

Cover art to store exclusive ‘She Still Leads Me On’ EP

An exclusive 12-inch EP of ‘She Still Leads Me On’, is available on all bundles in the Suede shop (although not in the US). This includes non-album bonus tracks ‘The Prey’, ‘Days Like Dead Months’, and ‘The Sadness In You, The Sadness In Me’. SDE has been advised that if you ordered the bundle yesterday after the 12-inch sold out you will still get the 12-inch EP for the sake of fairness, etc. So that’s very good news!

US fans should note that there’s a separate ‘London Suede’ shop for you, although the box isn’t available from there.

Suede will play a couple of dates at London’s Electric Ballroom on 5 & 6 October and ordering from their shop does get you access to pre-sale tickets.

Autofiction will be released on 16 September via BMG.

Suede shop highlights

US fans should click here for official US ‘London Suede’ shop

Autofiction gatefold vinyl LP (click image to enlarge)


Autofiction Suede /

      1. She Still Leads Me On
      2. Personality Disorder
      3. 15 Again
      4. The Only Way I Can Love You
      5. That Boy on the Stage
      6. Drive Myself Home
      7. Black Ice
      8. Shadow Self
      9. It’s Always the Quiet Ones
      10. What am I Without You
      11. Turn off Your Brain and Yell


She Still Leads Me On Suede / 12″ EP

    • SIDE A
      1. She Still Leads Me On
      2. The Sadness In You, The Sadness In Me
      SIDE B
      1. Days Like Dead Moths
      2. The Prey

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments