Suzanne Vega ‘Close-up’ series available separately on vinyl

All four album issued on 180g black vinyl

In March of this year, Cooking Vinyl issued a special 4LP coloured vinyl box set bringing together all four volumes of Suzanne Vega’s Close-Up Series, the 2010-2012 initiative that saw the singer-songwriter re-record swathes of her back catalogue and release newly-curated volumes of re-interpretations stripped of their original productions. All four of these titles will soon be available separately, this time as individual 180g black vinyl pressings.

You Might Like

The four volumes are: Love Songs and People and Places (both in 2010), States of Being (2011) and Songs of Family (2012). These were primarily conceived for CD, although limited black vinyl pressings were issued at the time.

The four vinyl records are available via various retail channels although on the official store they come with a signed print of the cover (while stocks last). The Suzanne Vega shop also has a 4LP black vinyl bundle, if you want them all, although at the time of writing stock of the original 4LP coloured vinyl ‘bookpack’ is still available (see price comparison widget below).

This Close-Up Series is released on individual black vinyl box set will be released on 2 December 2022. Scroll down for full track listings.

You might also like…


Close-Up Vol 1: Love Songs Suzanne Vega /

    • Side 1
      1. Small Blue Thing
      2. Caramel
      3. (If You Were) In My Movie
      4. Gypsy
      5. Marlene on the Wall
      6. (I’ll Never Be) Your Maggie May
      Side 2
      1. Harbor Song
      2. Headshots
      3. Songs in Red and Gray
      4. Stockings
      5. Some Journey
      6. Bound


Close-Up Vol 2: People & Places Suzanne Vega /

    • Side 1
      1. Luka
      2. Zephyr & I
      3. New York Is a Woman
      4. In Liverpool
      5. Calypso
      6. Fat Man and Dancing Girl
      7. The Queen and the Soldier
      Side 2
      1. Rock in This Pocket (Song of David)
      2. Angel’s Doorway
      3. Ironbound/Fancy Poultry
      4. Neighborhood Girls
      5. Tom’s Diner
      6. The Man Who Played God


Close-Up Vol 3: States of Being Suzanne Vega /

    • Side 1
      1. Undertow
      2. When Heroes Go Down
      3. My Favourite Plum
      4. Solitude Standing
      5. Cracking
      6. Last Year’s Troubles
      7. Solitaire
      8. Tombstone
      Side 2
      1. Blood Makes Noise
      2. 50-50 Chance
      3. Penitent
      4. Straight Lines
      5. Pornographer’s Dream
      6. Instant Of The Hour After


Close-Up Vol 4: Songs of Family Suzanne Vega /

    • Side 1
      1. Rosemary
      2. Honeymoon Suite
      3. World Before Columbus
      4. As You Are Now
      5. Soap and Water
      6. Widows Walk
      7. Blood Sings
      8. Bad Wisdom
      Side 2
      1. Ludlow Street
      2. Tired of Sleeping
      3. Pilgrimage
      4. Brother Mine
      5. The Silver Lady
      6. Daddy Is White

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments