Suzanne / Vega Close-Up Series signed vinyl box set

4LP deluxe set pressed on coloured vinyl

4LP coloured vinyl bookpack, with a limited number signed

A decade ago, Suzanne Vega’s Close-Up Series saw the singer-songwriter re-record swathes of her back catalogue and release newly-curated volumes of re-interpretations stripped of their original productions.

Four volumes were issued: Love Songs and People and Places (both in 2010), States of Being (2011) and Songs of Family (2012). These were primarily CD releases, although limited black vinyl pressings were issued at the time.

2014 saw the release of a 5CD+DVD deluxe set (now out-of-print), which collected all four volumes and added some bonus tracks and a DVD (Live & Backstage at City Winery).

Suzanne Vega Close-Up Series 4LP coloured vinyl set (click image to enlarge)

Now all four volumes are being pressed on coloured vinyl and are brought together in a special vinyl ‘bookpack’ which is limited to just 2,000 copies worldwide. It includes the Close-Up albums volumes 1-4, each as a different colour 180g heavyweight vinyl LP and this deluxe package comes with a 28-page booklet featuring a foreword by Suzanne Vega, a brand new essay by Lenny Kaye and the full lyrics for each song.

500 copies of the 2000 limited edition come with an exclusive art print of the front cover signed by Suzanne Vega. These can be ordered from the official Suzanne Vega shop.

This Close-Up Series coloured vinyl box set will be released on 25 March 2022.


Close-Up Series Suzanne Vega / 4LP coloured vinyl box set

    • LP 1: Close-Up, Vol 1, Love Songs
      Side A
      1. Small Blue Thing
      2. Caramel
      3. (If You Were) In My Movie
      4. Gypsy
      5. Marlene on the Wall
      6. (I’ll Never Be) Your Maggie May
      Side B
      1. Harbor Song
      2. Headshots
      3. Songs in Red and Gray
      4. Stockings
      5. Some Journey
      6. Bound
    • LP2: Close-Up, Vol 2, People & Places
      Side A
      1. Luka
      2. Zephyr & I
      3. New York Is a Woman
      4. In Liverpool
      5. Calypso
      6. Fat Man and Dancing Girl
      7. The Queen and the Soldier
      Side B
      1. Rock in This Pocket (Song of David)
      2. Angel’s Doorway
      3. Ironbound/Fancy Poultry
      4. Neighborhood Girls
      5. Tom’s Diner
      6. The Man Who Played God
    • LP 3: Close-Up, Vol 3, States Of Being
      Side A
      1. Undertow
      2. When Heroes Go Down
      3. My Favourite Plum
      4. Solitude Standing
      5. Cracking
      6. Last Year’s Troubles
      7. Solitaire
      8. Tombstone
      Side B
      1. Blood Makes Noise
      2. 50-50 Chance
      3. Penitent
      4. Straight Lines
      5. Pornographer’s Dream
      6. Instant Of The Hour After
    • LP 4: Close-Up, Vol 4, Songs Of Family
      Side A
      1. Rosemary
      2. Honeymoon Suite
      3. World Before Columbus
      4. As You Are Now
      5. Soap and Water
      6. Widows Walk
      7. Blood Sing
      8. Bad Wisdom
      Side B
      1. Ludlow Street
      2. Tired of Sleeping
      3. Pilgrimage
      4. Brother Mine
      5. The Silver Lady
      6. Daddy Is White

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments