The Bluetones / Return to the Last Chance Saloon deluxe edition


Britpop favourites The Bluetones see their second album Return to the Last Chance Saloon reissued in September.

The 1998 long-player was the follow-up to their successful debut Expecting To Fly (1996) and contained the popular top 20 singles Solomon Bites The Worm and If…

The album is reissued as a 2CD expanded edition and the bonus material will include standalone single Marblehead Johnson (released in between the first two albums), plus each band member’s hand-picked, favourite b-side, previously unreleased BBC session tracks from the era and a gig recorded at BBC’s Sound City in Newcastle in 1998.

The two-CD deluxe is released on 18 September 2015 with a vinyl reissue to follow in October.

2CD deluxe

Vinyl edition

Track listing
Original Album
1. Tone Blooze
2. Unpainted Arizona
3. Solomon Bites The Worm
4. U.T.A.
5. 4-Day Weekend
6. Sleazy Bed Track
7. If…
8. The Jub-Jub Bird
9. Sky Will Fall
10. Ames
11. Down At The Reservoir
12. Heard You Were Dead
13. Broken Starr
14. Woman Done Gone Left Me

Non Album Track
15. Marblehead Johnson

The Bluetones favourite B-Sides
16. I Was A Teenage Jesus (Mark’ choice)
17. I Walked All Night (Eds’ choice)
18. Pretty Ballerina (Adam’s choice)
19. Blue Shadows (Scott?’choice)

Radio 1 Session 4 August 1996
1. The Simple Things *
2. Electric Vampire *

Radio 1 Evening Session 9 March 1998
3. 4 Day Weekend *
4. UTA *

Newcastle Sound City 27 October 1998
5. Unpainted Arizona *
6. Bluetonic *
7. Solomon Bites The Worm *
8. Are You Blue Or Are You Blind *
9. Pretty Ballerina *
10. 4 Day Weekend *
11. Sleazy Bed Track *
12. Cut Some Rug *
13. UTA *
14. Slight Return *
15. If… *
16. Carn’t Be Trusted *
17. Broken Starr *

* previously unreleased

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments