'The End' is nigh for Black Sabbath with US-targeted deluxe reissues


To mark the beginning of ‘The End’ world tour in January 2016, the Rhino label release two-CD and two-LP deluxe editions of Black Sabbath’s first three studio albums – Black Sabbath, Paranoid and Master Of Reality – plus a reissue of the 2002 live collection Past Lives

Each of the studio album deluxe editions contain the 2012 remastered versions of each album (previously, only available on digital formats) and – fittingly, as Black Sabbath return to North America to launch their farewell tour – additional discs with out-takes that are previously unreleased in the States (although issued on 2009 European deluxe editions).

Ozzy Osbourne, Tony Iommi, Geezer Butler and Bill Ward made their debut as Black Sabbath in 1970 with the band’s self-titled album. The new deluxe edition contains outtakes from the 1969 recording sessions, alternate versions of Black Sabbath and N.I.B., plus two versions of the UK single Evil Woman (Don’t Play Games With Me).

The follow-up album, Paranoid, also released in 1970, achieved staggering success, going four-times platinum and this reissue includes alternate lyric versions of Paranoid and the dreamily psychedelic Planet Caravan, plus instrumental versions of War Pigs and Iron Man among others.

The expanded edition of Master of Reality (first released in 1971) presents eight studio out-takes including alternate takes on Solitude (featuring different guitar tuning), Sweet Leaf and Children Of The Grave.

In addition to these studio album reissues, comes Past Lives, a compilation of live performances recorded between 1970 and 1975 that was originally released in 2002. This is also available in two-CD and two-LP formats and includes live versions of 18 Sabbath tracks.

All the CD sets are presented in digipaks with artwork similar to the ones that were previously released outside North America and with the same liner notes. The double LPs are pressed on heavyweight 180-gram vinyl and delivered in gatefold sleeves.

Black Sabbath, Paranoid, Master of Reality and Past Lives are reissued on 22 January 2016, two days after The End tour kicks off in Omaha, Nebraska.



Black Sabbath 2CD deluxe

Black Sabbath 2LP


Paranoid 2CD deluxe

Paranoid 2LP


Masters of Reality 2CD deluxe

Masters of Reality 2LP


Past Lives 2CD

Past Lives 2LP



Black Sabbath

Disc One:
1.Black Sabbath
2. The Wizard
3. Wasp/Behind The Wall Of Sleep/Bassically/N.I.B.
4. Wicked World
5. A Bit Of Finger/Sleeping Village/Warning

Disc Two:
1.Evil Woman (Don’t Play Your Games With Me)
2. Black Sabbath – Studio Outtake *
3. Black Sabbath – Instrumental *
4. The Wizard – Studio Outtake *
5. N.I.B. – Alternate Version *
6. Evil Woman (Don’t Play Your Games With Me) – Alternate Version *
7. Sleeping Village (Intro) – Alternate Version *
8. Warning (Part 1) – Studio Outtake *



Disc One:
1. War Pigs/Luke s Wall
2. Paranoid
3. Planet Caravan
4. Iron Man
5. Electric Funeral
6. Hand Of Doom
7. Rat Salad
8. Jack The Stripper/Fairies Wear Boots

Disc Two:
1. War Pigs – Instrumental*
2. Paranoid – Alternate Lyrics*
3. Planet Caravan – Alternate Lyrics *
4. Iron Man – Instrumental*
5. Electric Funeral – Instrumental*
6. Hand Of Doom – Instrumental*
7. Rat Salad – Alternate Mix*
8. Fairies Wear Boots – Instrumental


Master of Reality

Disc One:
1. Sweet Leaf
2. After Forever
3. Embryo
4. Children Of The Grave
5. Orchid
6. Lord Of This World
7. Solitude
8. Into The Void

Disc Two:
1. Weevil Woman ’71*
2. Sweet Leaf – Studio Outtake*
3. After Forever – Studio Outtake Instrumental*
4. Children Of The Grave- Studio Outtake*
5. Children Of The Grave – Studio Outtake Instrumental*
6. Orchid – Studio Outtake*
7. Lord Of This World – Studio Outtake*
8. Solitude – Studio Outtake*
9. Into The Void (Spanish Sid) – Studio Outtake*

* Tracks previously unreleased in North America


Past Lives

Disc 1:
1. Tomorrow’s Dream
2. Sweet Leaf
3. Killing Yourself To Live
4. Cornucopia
5. Snowblind
6. Children Of The Grave
7. War Pigs
8. Wicked World
9. Paranoid

Disc 2:
1. Hand Of Doom
2. Hole In The Sky
3. Symptom Of The Universe
4. Megalomania
5. Iron Man
6. Black Sabbath
7. N.I.B.
8. Behind The Wall Of Sleep
9. Fairies Wear Boots

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments