The Police / Ghost in the Machine vinyl picture disc

Features ‘original’ track listing

The Police’s fourth album, 1981’s Ghost in the Machine, will be reissued as a vinyl picture disc with a rejigged track listing, in November.

This alternate track listing was apparently genuinely considered for release (a production master was created) and the sequencing features three additional tracks: ‘I Burn For You’ (the single mix from the ‘Brimstone and Treacle’ soundtrack), ‘Once Upon A Daydream’ (ultimately saved for the flipside of 1983’s ‘Synchronicity II’ and ‘Shambelle’ (which ended up as the B-side to ‘Invisible Sun’).

The single mix of ‘I Burn For You’ features on the vinyl picture disc of Ghost in the Machine.

There is another change. The songs ‘Spirits In The Material World’, ‘Rehumanise Yourself’, ‘One World (Not Three)’ and ‘Hungry For You’ all feature Stewart Copeland counting in the tracks. This audio does not feature on the 1981 release.

Side A of this picture disc features the logo image from the front cover and side B features the inner sleeve image.

A curious release, for sure, this vinyl picture disc will be issued on 4 November 2022, via UMC/Polydor. No other formats are available.


Ghost in the Machine The Police /

    • Side A
      1. Invisible Sun
      2. Demolition Man
      3. Secret Journey
      4. Darkness
      5. Spirits In The Material World
      6. Too Much Information
      7. Omegaman
    • Side B
      1. One World (Not Three)
      2. Rehumanise Yourself
      3. I Burn For You
      4. Hungry For You (j’aurais toujours faim de toi)
      5. Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic
      6. Once Upon A Daydream
      7. Shambelle

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments