The Who / Tommy and The Who Sell Out half-speed mastered vinyl

Two classic albums cut at half speed

Two classic albums from The Who will be issued as new half-speed mastered vinyl pressings in July.

1967’s The Who Sell Out is one of the albums in question, which is mildly surprising, given that this album was reissued just over a year ago, when a 2LP vinyl edition with bonus tracks was offered. This time it’s strictly a single LP, ‘album-only’ affair, but of course this has been cut at half-speed by Miles Showell of Abbey Road for optimum/superior sound. If you’d like an in-depth explanation of the half-speed mastering process, check out this SDE post.

The 2LP half-speed mastered vinyl pressing of Tommy (click image to enlarge)

The Who’s ‘rock opera’ Tommy, from 1969, is the second of the two albums to be issued as a half-speed mastered vinyl pressing. Like The Who Sell Out, Tommy was given the full reissue treatment but this was way back in late 2013. The album mastering is courtesy of longtime Who engineer Jon Astley (as is The Who Sell Out), but again, this has been cut at half-speed by Miles Showell.

Both releases are packaged in original sleeve and come with OBI-strip and certificate of authenticity. The Who Sell Out and Tommy are issued as half-speed mastered vinyl pressings on 8 July 2022.


Tommy The Who / Half-speed mastered vinyl

    • LP 1
      SIDE 1
      1. Overture
      2. It’s A Boy
      3. 1921
      4. Amazing Journey
      5. Sparks
      6. Eyesight For the Blind (The Hawker)
      SIDE 2
      1. Christmas
      2. Cousin Kevin
      3. The Acid Queen
      4. Underture
    • LP 2
      SIDE 3
      1. Do You Think It’s Alright?
      2. Fiddle About
      3. Pinball Wizard
      4. There’s A Doctor
      5. Go To the Mirror!
      6. Tommy, Can You Hear Me?
      7. Smash The Mirror
      8. Sensation
      SIDE 4
      1. Miracle Cure
      2. Sally Simpson
      3. I’m Free
      4. Welcome
      5. Tommy’s Holiday Camp
      6. We’re Not Gonna Take It


The Who Sell Out The Who / Half-speed mastered vinyl

    • LP 1
      SIDE 1
      1. Armenia City in The Sky
      2. Heinz Baked Beans
      3. Mary Anne With the Shaky Hand
      4. Odorono
      5. Tattoo
      6. Our Love Was
      7. I Can See for Miles
      SIDE 2
      1. Can’t Reach You
      2. Medac
      3. Relax
      4. Silas Stingy
      5. Sunrise
      6. Rael (1 And 2)

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments