Wet Wet Wet reveal full track listing for Popped In Souled Out super deluxe

Wet Wet Wet / "Popped in Souled Out" super deluxe edition

A month on from the announcement that Wet Wet Wet‘s 1987 debut, Popped In Souled Out, is to be reissued as a super deluxe edition, the band have now confirmed exactly what the content will be on each of the five discs included in the set.

Scroll down for the full track listing, which reveals five bonus tracks appended to the album proper, including three single versions. ‘The Memphis Sessions‘ on disc two also includes bonus tracks, two of which were early versions of singles: Wishing I Was Lucky and Home And Away (which became Angel Eyes).

The ‘B-Sides, Remixes and a Number One’ disc includes 13 tracks and features two remixes of both Wishing I Was Lucky and Sweet Little Mystery along with the demo of Angel Eyes (Home And Away) which featured on the 12-inch and CD of the single release. The “number one” on this disc is of course the band’s charity cover of The BeatlesWith A Little Help From My Friends.

Fans will probably be most excited about the ‘Unreleased and Rarities‘ disc which includes 14 tracks from early sessions in 1984/5. Tagged on the end are some rare dub mixes, although notable by its absence is the infamous PWL Phil Harding remix of Sweet Little Mystery. This mix stripped away the entire band – and replaced it with the ‘house’ PWL sound – keeping only Marti’s voice. The band refused to release it at the time and when SDE queried it’s lack of inclusion on this 30th anniversary celebration, the response was as follows “We got it out of the tape archive and had a listen to it, it wasn’t us then and it’s not us now, so we’ve decided to not to include it“.

Finally, the ‘Pop It In The Player!’ DVD is packed with promo videos, TV appearances (Top Of The Pops, Whistle Test) and new interviews with the band.

The Popped In Souled Out super deluxe edition will be released on 22 September 2017.

Popped In Souled Out / Super Deluxe Edition

Disc 1 – Remastered album with bonus tracks

  • Wishing I Was Lucky
  • East Of The River
  • I Remember
  • Angel Eyes (Home And Away)
  • Sweet Little Mystery
  • I Don’t Believe (Sonny’s Letter)
  • Temptation
  • I Can Give You Everything
  • The Moment You Left Me
  • Words Of Wisdom
  • Don’t Let Me Be Lonely Tonight
  • World In Another
  • Wishing I Was Lucky (Live at The Wendy May Show)

Bonus Tracks

  • Sweet Little Mystery (Live at Capital Radio)
  • HTHDTGT (Live at Capital Radio)
  • Angel Eyes (Single version)
  • Temptation (Single version)
  • Sweet Little Mystery (Single version)

Disc 2 – The Memphis Sessions with bonus tracks

  • I Don’t Believe (Sonny’s Lettah)
  • Sweet Little Mystery
  • East Of The River
  • This Time
  • Temptation
  • I Remember
  • For You Are
  • Heaven Help Us All

Bonus Tracks

  • Piece Of My Heart
  • Wishing I Was Lucky
  • Home And Away

Disc 3 – B-Sides, Remixes and a Number One

  • Wishing I Was Lucky (12” Version)
  • Wishing I Was Lucky (Metal Mix)
  • Words Of Wisdom (Wishing I Was Lucky B-Side)
  • Still Can’t Remember Your Name (Wishing I Was Lucky B-Side)
  • Sweet Little Mystery (12” Version)
  • Sweet Little Mystery (Mista E Mix)
  • May You Never (Live / Wet Pack Track)
  • We Can Love (Angel Eyes B-Side)
  • Home And Away (Demo Version / Angel Eyes B-Side)
  • Heaven Help Us All (Temptation B-Side)
  • I Remember (Extended Version / Temptation B-Side)
  • Bottled Emotions (Temptation B-Side)
  • With A Little Help From My Friends (Single)

Disc 4 – Unreleased and Rarities

  • The Moment You Left Me (Planet Studio Session Nov 1984)
  • Home And Away (Planet Studio Session Nov 1984)
  • East Of The River (Planet Studio Session Nov/Dec 1985)
  • Wishing I Was Lucky (Planet Studio Session Nov/Dec 1985)
  • I Don’t Believe (Planet Studio Session Nov/Dec 1985)
  • Words Of Wisdom (Planet Studio Session Nov/Dec 1985)
  • East Of The River (Amazon Studios Sessions Jun 1985)
  • Temptation (Amazon Studios Sessions Jun 1985)
  • World In Another (Amazon Studios Sessions Jun 1985)
  • For You Are (Amazon Studios Sessions Jun 1985)
  • I Suppose (Amazon Studios Sessions Jun 1985)
  • I Can Give You Everything (The Manor Studio Oct 1985)
  • I Can Give You Everything (Comforts Place Sessions Oct 1985)
  • We Can Love (Comforts Place Sessions Oct 1985)
  • Wishing I Was Lucky (12” Gotta Job Mix)
  • Wishing I Was Lucky (Instrumental Dub)
  • Sweet Little Mystery (Dub Version)

Disc 5 – DVD: Pop It In The Player! Promo Videos, BBC Performances and Snapshots – The Story of Popped In Souled Out

  • Snapshots – The Story of Popped In Souled Out – Band interviews
  • Wishing I Was Lucky (Promo Video)
  • Sweet Little Mystery (Promo Video)
  • Angel Eyes (Promo Video)
  • Temptation (Promo Video)
  • I Remember (Promo Video)
  • With A Little Help From My Friends (Promo Video)
  • Wishing I Was Lucky (US Promo Video)
  • Full Scale Deflection (BBC May 20th 1986)
  • Wishing I Was Lucky (BBC Whistle Test Mar 25th 1987)
  • Temptation (BBC Whistle Test Mar 25th 1987)
  • Wishing I Was Lucky (BBC Top Of The Pops May 21st 1987)
  • Wishing I Was Lucky (BBC Top Of The Pops Jun 5th 1987)
  • Sweet Little Mystery (BBC Top Of The Pops 13th Aug 1987)
  • Sweet Little Mystery (BBC Top Of The Pops 27th Aug 1987)
  • Angel Eyes (BBC Top Of The Pops 31st Dec 1987)
  • Temptation (BBC Top Of The Pops 31st Mar 1988)
  • With A Little Help From My Friends (BBC Top Of The Pops 12th May 1988)

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments