Elton John vinyl reissues

Peachtree Road, The One and Regimental Sgt. Zippo

July sees a clutch of Elton John remastered vinyl reissues including a 2LP edition of his 2005 album Peachtree Road, a stereo release of 1968’s Regimental Sgt. Zippo and his first album of the 1990s, The One.

Regimental Sgt. Zippo is the ‘album that never was’ for Elton John. It was recorded in London in 1968 and was supposed to be his debut album. For reasons unknown, it was never released. During the research for the Jewel Box collection, the original running order was located and this album was issued last year, in mono, for Record Store Day. It has now been newly mixed into stereo and will be issued on black vinyl. There’s also a CD edition that contains both the original mono mixes and the new stereo mix.

The new 2LP vinyl remaster of Peachtree Road (click image to enlarge)

Peachtree Road was issued in 2004 and was self-produced. The vinyl wasn’t issued until 2005 at which point the rather dull original cover art was superseded by the image you see at the top of this post. It also became a special expanded edition, with three bonus tracks from the musical Billy Elliot, including ‘Electricity’, which reached #4 in the UK charts. The new 2LP vinyl replicates this original version.

Finally, The One was issued in June 1992 and followed his The Very Best Of compilation. It features guest appearances from Kiki Dee, Eric Clapton and David Gilmour, and reached #2 in the UK album charts. The title track preceded the album and was a top ten hit in June of that year. For this new remaster, the original running order, which was squeezed onto two sides of a single album originally, has been expanded to 2LPs in a new gatefold sleeve.

All three vinyl reissues (and the CD of Sgt Zippo) are released on 8 July 2022.


Peachtree Road Elton John / 2LP vinyl

    • LP 1
      Side A
      1. Weight Of The World
      2. Porch Swing In Tupelo
      3. Answer In The Sky
      4. Turn The Lights Out When You Leave
      Side B
      1. My Elusive Drug
      2. They Call Her The Cat
      3. Freaks In Love
      4. All That I’m Allowed (I’m Thankful)
    • LP 2
      Side A
      1. I Stop And I Breathe
      2. Too Many Tears
      3. It’s Getting Dark In Here
      4. I Can’t Keep This From You
      Side B
      1. The Letter
      2. Merry Christmas Maggie Thatcher
      3. Electricity


The One Elton John / 2LP vinyl

    • LP 1
      Side A
      1. Simple Life
      2. The One
      3. Sweat It out
      Side B
      1. Runaway Train
      2. Whitewash County
    • LP 2
      Side A
      1. The North
      2. When A Woman Doesn’t Want You
      3. Emily
      Side B
      1. On Dark Street
      2. Understanding Women
      3. The Last Song


Regimental Sgt. Zippo Elton John / vinyl LP

    • LP 1
      Side A
      1. When I Was Tealby Abbey
      2. And The Clock Goes Round
      3. Sitting Doing Nothing
      4. Turn To Me
      5. Angel Tree
      6. Regimental Sgt. Zippo
      Side B
      1. A Dandelion Dies In The Wind
      2. You’ll Be Sorry To See Me Go
      3. You’re My Woman (aka Nina)
      4. Tartan Coloured Lady
      5. Hourglass
      6. Watching The Planes Go By

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments