It’s so cool… True Romance soundtrack reissued on coloured vinyl and box set

The soundtrack to Tony Scott’s brilliant 1993 film True Romance is being issued on vinyl for the first time and will be available as part of a deluxe box set but also separately in limited quantities.

Quentin Tarantino penned the script for the movie, which was released between Reservoir Dogs and Pulp Fiction, and the narrative and dialogue bear all the hallmarks of the now legendary director. The film, which stars Christian Slater and Patricia Arquette, boasts many memorable scenes including a tour-de-force turns from both Christopher Walken and Dennis Hopper. Eagle-eyed viewers will spot an early big-screen role for James Gandolfini, as the violent mobster who confronts Arquette in the motel bedroom.

The music is excellent and the relatively short soundtrack mixes pop from the likes of Robert Palmer, Chris Isaak and Soundgarden with some original Hans Zimmer compositions. You’ll probably recognise the first track, You’re So Cool, which is a very beautiful piece of music, variations on which can be heard regularly in advertising on TV. In fact Zimmer based this on Carl Orff’s Gassenhauer which was used in Terence Malick’s 1973 film Badlands. 

The reissues come from Wargod/Real Gone Music although with the best will in the world, they really crank up the tat in order to somehow manage to spin a $180 box from this one album. Items include a five-piece set of enamel pins, two pairs of sunglasses, a mock ‘Coming Home in a Bodybag VHS case, Clarence’s drivers licence, Beverly Ambassador Hotel napkin and more! You get three of the same record in different coloured vinyl pressings in this box, but can save $40 and opt for just one record in the box set.

SDE’s advice is to forget about all that… crap and just pick up the standalone coloured vinyl pressing which comes in “pillow feather white with blood red spatter”. This is limited to 2000 copies and is relatively cheap on Amazon UK, for this kind of import (see: Twin Peaks).  The gatefold album sleeve features some attractive artwork by Rafal Wechterowicz which is “exclusive to this album’s initial manufacturing run and will never be reprinted”. You can see the what this looks like on the top left of the image above.

The True Romance soundtrack is reissued on coloured vinyl and as the two different box sets on 7 July 2017.

Compare prices and pre-order


True Romance (Limited Pillow Feather White and Blood Red Splatter Vinyl) [VINYL]

Shop Price gbp Stock

Box sets can be purchased via MerchNow

Disc: 1
1. You’’re So Cool / Hans Zimmer
2. Graceland / Charlie Sexton
3. In Dreams / John Waite
4. Wounded Bird / Charles & Eddie
5. I Want Your Body / Nymphomania
6. Stars at Dawn / Hans Zimmer

Disc: 2
1. I Need a Heart to Come Home to / Shelby Lynne
2. Viens Mallika Sous le Dome Edais from “Lakme” Deibes
3. (Love Is) The Tender Trap / Robert Palmer
4. Outshined / Soundgarden
5. Amid the Chaos of the Day / Hans Zimmer
6. Two Hearts / Chris Isaak

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments