Lloyd Cole / On Pain

LC’s new studio album

Lloyd Cole’s forthcoming album On Pain is now available to pre-order.

Cole’s 12th studio long-player features eight new songs, four of which are co-written by Commotions founding members Blair Cowan and Neil Clark, who also perform on the record.

The album was produced by Chris Merrick Hughes, who produced Tears For Fears‘ classic 1985 album Songs From The Big Chair. On Pain was recorded in Cole’s Massachusetts’ attic studio The Establishment.

Lloyd Cole’s On Pain will be reissued on black vinyl and CD (click image to enlarge)

Speaking of the record, Lloyd says: “I’m excited to still be finding new methods, new perpectives, new sounds. The album may be nearing commercial death, but my career has been in that state for almost 30 years and here we are, still, and I still want to make albums. I still want to be heard”.

The album is available on black vinyl and CD. There appears to be no special formats or limited editions, although next month we are promised a ‘digital EP’ of mixes of the album closer ‘Wolves’. Back in December last year, LC Patreon subscribers enjoyed a sneak listen to an early version of ‘The Idiot’ which was excellent and continues the electronic vibe from 2019’s Guesswork.

On Pain will be released on 23 June 2023 via earMUSIC. One presumes the reissue of Cole’s 2003 album Music In A Foreign Language (which is confirmed) will be pushed back to later this year. In other news, Lloyd Cole and the Commotions second album, Easy Pieces is reissued on vinyl in April.

You Might Also Like…


On Pain Lloyd Cole /

      1. On Pain
      2. Warm by the Fire
      3. I Can Hear Everything
      4. The Idiot
      5. You are Here Now
      6. This Can’t Be Happening
      7. More of What You Are
      8. Wolves

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments