Lloyd Cole unhappy with new ‘expanded’ Rattlesnakes vinyl LP reissue


A new vinyl edition of Lloyd Cole and the Commotions‘ 1984 debut Rattlesnakes appeared on the market last month and Lloyd isn’t overly happy, telling his fans that  “mistakes were made” with the reissue.

The crux of the issue is that the vinyl track listing uses the 1985 CD track listing which included the non-album songs Sweetness, Andy’s Babies, The Sea and the Sand and You Will Never Be No Good.

Writing on his website LC says:

“Unfortunately we (who were The Commotions) didn’t find out about this until it was already released and for sale. Otherwise it wouldn’t have happened. The running order was based on the 1985 CD of Rattlesnakes and those involved with the release were not aware that this was not actually the original album. Mistakes were made and correct protocol was not followed, but we concluded that there was nothing untoward intended.”

Lloyd also clarifies whether the new issue is a remastering or not:

“Initially I was particularly worried that a vinyl LP would imply a proper remastering from the original tapes, which this was not… however those types of reissues sell for 25-30 euros, and this sells for 12. All we have asked is that if anyone wants their money back, that they should be refunded. I doubt this will happen and it will probably become one of those fabulous accidental collectors items, like the That Boy single, which was ‘never released’ and yet quite a few people have them… We have two copies, but no working turntable right now.”

I’ll be interested whether SDE readers can find this for €12. It seems to be much more than that, at least on Amazon!

The Rattlesnakes ‘expanded’ vinyl LP is out now.



Side One

1 Perfect Skin 3:10
2 Speedboat 4:32
3 Rattlesnakes 3:22
4 Down On Mission Street 3:43
5 Forest Fire (Extended Version) 5:11
6 Charlotte Street 3:48

Side Two

7 2CV 2:50
8 Four Flights Up 2:33
9 Patience 3:33
10 Are You Ready To Be Heartbroken? 3:03
11 Sweetness 2:48
12 Andy’s Babies 2:50
13 The Sea And The Sand 3:02
14 You Will Never Be No Good 2:41

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments