More Pet Shop Boys ‘Further Listening’ deluxe reissues and vinyl LPs

The Pet Shop Boys will quickly follow up their ‘Catalogue’ July reissues with two more ‘Further Listening’ multi-disc sets of Yes and Elysium – the last two albums Neil and Chris issued in the Parlophone era.

Yes was originally released in 2009 and was produced by Brian Higgins and Xenomania. A limited edition two-CD version was issued at the time, which included a song called This Used to Be the Future, which featured Philip Oakey, amongst the bonus tracks.

This is amongst the bonus content on the new three-CD deluxe edition of Yes – newly remastered, like the album itself. Other content of note is a previously unreleased monitor mix of The Loving Kind, a song which became a Top 10 hit for Girls Aloud, as well as previously unreleased demos of songs from the 2010 Young Vic theatre production, My Dad’s A Birdman.

Elysium is the other album being reissued as a Further Listening set. This is a two-CD edition. The original special edition from 2012 was the most boring of all the PSB’s ‘specials’, just including an instrumental version of the album.

None of those instrumentals feature on the new reissue of what Neil Tennant describes it as “the Pet Shop Boys’ most beautiful album”. Content on the new set includes previously unreleased demos entitled Vocal, She Pops and In Slow Motion, as well as PSB mixes and remixes of Leaving and Memory of the Future.

Packaging will be consistent with the earlier reissues, which means the bizarre choice of a ‘fatbox’ 3CD set for Yes. Both of these albums are being reissued on vinyl, too. There is no word on when the remasters of the original 2001 ‘Further Listening’ will be reissued. Next year seems likely now, although Warners may choose to sneak them out in late November or early December, to capitalise on the Christmas market.

Yes and Elysium are reissued on 20 October 2017.

Yes: Further Listening 2008-2010 / 3CD Deluxe

Disc: 1
1. Love etc. (2017 Remastered Version)
2. All Over the World (2017 Remastered Version)
3. Beautiful People (2017 Remastered Version)
4. Did You See Me Coming? (2017 Remastered Version)
5. Vulnerable (2017 Remastered Version)
6. More Than a Dream (2017 Remastered Version)
7. Building a Wall (2017 Remastered Version)
8. King of Rome (2017 Remastered Version)
9. Pandemonium (2017 Remastered Version)
10. The Way It Used to Be (2017 Remastered Version)
11. Legacy (2017 Remastered Version)

Disc: 2
1. Gin and Jag (2017 Remastered Version)
2. This Used To Be the Future (with Phil Oakey) [2017 Remastered Version]
3. We’re All Criminals Now (2017 Remastered Version)
4. Gin and Jag (Frisky Mix) [2017 Remastered Version]
5. Beautiful People (Demo) [2017 Remastered Version]
6. My Girl (2017 Remastered Version)
7. The Loving Kind (Monitor Mix)
8. Love etc. (PSB Mix) [2017 Remastered Version]
9. Did You See Me Coming? (PSB Possibly more mix) [2017 Remastered Version]
10. The Former Enfant Terrible (PSB Bring It On Mix) [2017 Remastered Version]
11. Up and Down (2017 Remastered Version)
12. Pet Shop Boys “Brits” Medley (2017 Remastered Version)

Disc: 3
1. I Cried for Us (2017 Remastered Version)
2. It Doesn’t Often Snow at Christmas (New Version) [2017 Remastered Version]
3. All Over the World (New Version) [2017 Remastered Version]
4. Viva la Vida/Domino Dancing (Christmas EP Mix) [2017 Remastered Version]
5. My Girl (Our House Mix) [2017 Remastered Version]
6. Leaving (Demo) [2017 Remastered Version]
7. Together (2017 Remastered Version)
8. Glad All Over (2017 Remastered Version)
9. The Dumpling Song (Demo from ”My Dad’s a Birdman”)
10. Wings and Faith (Demo from ”My Dad’s a Birdman”)
11. Night Song (Fan Club Download 2010)

Elysium: Further Listening 2011-2012 / 2CD deluxe

Disc: 1
1. Leaving (2017 Remastered Version)
2. Invisible (2017 Remastered Version)
3. Winner (2017 Remastered Version)
4. Your Early Stuff (2017 Remastered Version)
5. A Face Like That (2017 Remastered Version)
6. Breathing Space (2017 Remastered Version)
7. Ego Music (2017 Remastered Version)
8. Hold on (2017 Remastered Version)
9. Give It a Go (2017 Remastered Version)
10. Memory of the Future (2017 Remastered Version)
11. Everything Means Something (2017 Remastered Version)
12. Requiem in Denim and Leopardskin (2017 Remastered Version)

Disc: 2
1. Vocal (Demo)
2. She Pops (Demo)
3. Inside (2017 Remastered Version)
4. In Slow Motion (Demo)
5. Listening (2017 Remastered Version)
6. Hell (2017 Remastered Version)
7. The Way Through the Woods (Long Version) [2017 Remastered Version]
8. I Started a Joke (2017 Remastered Version)
9. In His Imagination (2017 Remastered Version)
10. Leaving (Believe In PSB Remix) [2017 Remastered Version]
11. Leaving (Side By Side Remix) [2017 Remastered Version]
12. Leaving (Freedom Remix) [2017 Remastered Version]
13. Memory of the Future (New Single Mix) [2017 Remastered Version]

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments